Skip to main content

Monday Afternoon Visits

First up, I have incredibly good news! You'll remember my confusion and dismay when I discovered The King Commands--the sequel to Meg Burden's Northlander--was nowhere to be found despite having been published not quite two months ago. Well, a couple of days ago Charlotte contacted me to let me know that she talked to the publishers and they informed her that Amazon had just placed an order and that the book, in fact, was now in stock there! Charlotte and I (after doing the happy dance) naturally concluded that it was the review that got the ball rolling. So way to go 'Villians! When I first checked it said there were five copies in stock at Amazon and more were on the way. Those five copies have now been sold, but there are new copies available for the original sale price of $8.95 all over now. Barnes & Noble has them shipping in two days, and now The Book Depository and Powell's does as well. My copy is already on its way. It's a midsummer miracle!

Next, my buddy and book blogger Chachic over at Chachic's Book Nook is hosting her very first giveaway. As Chachic's over in the Philippines, this contest is open there only. But she's picked a great book to start with (and a pretty copy, too)--Beauty by Robin McKinley. I know none of you have ever heard me talk about that book or that author before, so you'll just have to take Chachic's word for it. They're good 'uns. Just tell her your favorite fairy tale and you'll be entered.

Third, while Charlotte and I were getting to the bottom of the Great King Commands Caper, we got to discussing our favorite tortured brothers--Alan and Nick Ryves from The Demon's Lexicon trilogy by Miss Sarah Rees Brennan. We both favor Alan. For pretty much anything. I have my hopes (and suspicions) for the way book three will turn out, but I won't go into those here so as not to spoil anything for those of you haven't read the first or second one. But our Alan Lovefest wound to its natural conclusion with Charlotte posting a poll on her site. Alan, Nick, Mae, Sin? Go cast your vote. Personally, I'm Team Alan all the way. Though not necessarily to end up with who you might think...

Happy Monday, folks! What does your week hold in store?

Comments

  1. Anonymous2:14 PM

    Thanks for sharing the info about The King Commands. My copy of Northlander arrived last week and I'm looking forward to reading it.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  2. The first demon's lexicon book is on hold for me right now at the library! Hopefully I'll have it in hand shortly. I can't wait to see what the big deal is about these brothers you keep going on and on about!

    ReplyDelete
  3. What an excellent way to start the week!

    I've just ordered Northlander ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Karen, great! This is working out to be good timing all around.

    Suey, woo-hoo! I hope you like it. *crosses fingers*

    Li, I thought so. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yay, thanks for linking the giveaway, Angie! I saw Charlotte's poll about the Ryves brothers and I voted already. I am for TEAM NICK! :) And yes, not necessarily to end up with who you might think. I just want to believe in him because he's trying so hard.

    ReplyDelete
  6. My poor children, I haven't been able to put Northlander down ALL day. I'm almost done and decided to get on the internet to see if I could find book 2 and I saw your post.....YAY!!! I was very worried....I need to know what happens next....NOW.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I think that what happened viz The King Commands is the most lovely direct example I know of the power of both blogging, and the Cybils, to bring attention to neglected books...If Northlander hadn't been shortlisted for the Cybils several years ago, I wouldn't have read it, and then I wouldn't have recommended it to you...and now this whole new surge of interest has happened! It just goes to show.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yay for your book ninja skills! I'm super impressed!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Chachic, I know. *sigh* Poor Nick. He has my heart as well. So much peril!! What will happen?

    Liz, YAY! I'm so glad you read it. Wasn't it great?? Maybe we'll both have read the sequel by the time we see each other next...:)

    Charlotte, exactly! I would never have found it at all if not for you and the CYBILS. Yay for the CYBILS! The editor-in-chief of Brown Barn Books contacted me and said she'd heard from devoted fans over her and was happy to say two of their three distributors had just put in orders for a bunch of copies. *highfive*

    Michelle, hehe. Why, thank you. I think you'd like this one, btw. *ninja*

    ReplyDelete
  10. I just need to track down a copy....I've requested that my library buy a copy and they are usually good about doing that so I am keeping my fingers crossed. You'll be in Malad for the 3rd....Yes????

    ReplyDelete
  11. Liz, YES! I will be there. With family in tow. I can't wait to hang out with everyone. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan