Skip to main content

Darkest Mercy Cover Art

I know you've likely seen this cover already, but it's frankly too pretty not to post. Also, it's Donia. And I love Donia. This is the cover for Darkest Mercy--the fifth and final book in Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely series.
And just for fun, I thought I'd post all five covers side by side here now, both to show the arc of truly lovely cover art for a series, and to try to determine which one is my favorite.
First of all--so pretty. This series has just had consistently gorgeous covers and I love seeing that, especially for a series I've followed and enjoyed (I should say that has inspired the full range of human emotions in me--which can only be a good thing--even when I'm railing against some bit of nonsense Keenan got himself up to). Second, as far as my favorite goes, it's definitely down to either the cover of Ink Exchange or the one for Darkest Mercy. I love them both. But I think, I think, I'm gonna have to go with Ink Exchange. Because it's Leslie. And it's Irial's tattoo. Coming alive. And I love the imagery, the  book, and those characters so much they will always hold a special place in my affections. So bring on Darkest Mercy, Ms. Marr. I cannot wait to see how you wrap the whole thing up.

Comments

  1. I've seen this cover around and while I still haven't read RADIANT SHADOWS (my least fav cover) I find this one simply beautiful. Like completely gorgeous. I think I full on gasped when I saw it first. So yeah, maybe I'm going to be picking up RS and DM just because I want to see how it all works out in the end.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read this series yet but I have the first book. I really like the Darkest Mercy cover. I LOVE that flower and the colors. Again, never read the books so I have not idea of symbolism/tie-ins I just think it's purty!

    ReplyDelete
  4. INK is totally my favourite - it's not even close, for me. :)

    Although the new one is certainly pretty, Donia looks a bit like one of those tourist statues of Mary you'd buy from Lourdes...

    Kaz

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yeah, these covers are probably some of the pretties ones i've seen. I just wish i could enjoy the series as much as i like the covers. unfortunately, it doesn't always work out that way in the book world.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Darkest Mercy is stunning. Melissa Marr hit the jackpot with her covers.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't see the Darkest Mercy cover before, it truly is stunning. I'm not the biggest fan of her series but that sure made me want to pick up Radian Shadows so I can read this one as well(I hope the series gets better).

    ReplyDelete
  8. Michelle, agreed. RS cover is my least favorite. But this one--wow. Just wow.

    Mollie, it IS purty. :) Give that first book a try sometime and let me know what you think.

    Kaz, LOL. That's true. I hadn't seen her in that light. But I'm glad we're one on the cover of INK. Which is your favorite book?

    Daniela, *sigh*. It doesn't, does it? So many books with gorgeous covers leave me cold. And then the opposite is completely true as well. Unfortunately.

    Tiah, seriously. I would be ecstatic if they were mine.

    Ladybug, RS wasn't my favorite book in the series , though I enjoyed my favorite characters in it quite a bit. But I've got high hopes for the conclusion.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't seen the Darkest Mercy cover yet. I LOVE IT! The title is great too. I'm reading Radiant Shadows right now. I look forward to reading the last book!

    ReplyDelete
  10. This is my joint favourite cover of this series. I've always liked Ink Exchange best, then Wicked Lovely, but this one's incredibly gorgeous.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Mariella4:12 PM

    @Michelle, Don't judge Radiant Shadows by its cover, in my opinion, it is the absolute best book in the series so far!
    And the darkest Mercy cover is truly breathtaking :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. Denisha4:09 AM

    love the new cover, i have a feeling that it symbolizes Donia's ability 2 somehow become the Summer Queen instead of Ash, maybe they can find some loophole that makes everything work out... it would make sense considering that the cover is of the Winter Queen holding a flower in full bloom without killing it

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan