Skip to main content

I Can't Help Myself

I have very fond memories of the Sweet Valley High books. For some time, I faithfully trekked to the bookstore every month and purchased the new one along with the latest Nancy Drew Casefile. The Super Thrillers were my favorites. And that's why I'm going to be reading this when it comes out in March:
Ten years later. Oh, the drama!

Comments

  1. Oh me too, me too!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yep, I'll be right there with you!

    I was also a faithful purchaser of the SVH books every month. I still remember how EXCITING it was to see a new one on the shelf in the supermarket.

    ReplyDelete
  3. You're not alone Angie I'm looking forward to the fun of this book! :) Thanks for posting the cover!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I was a bit young for SVH. I did read Sweet Valley Twins, though. I wonder if I'd still get something out of this new book...

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous1:29 PM

    I never read Sweet Valley High. I read The Cheerleaders series. I still regret donating all of them to the library!

    This, however, makes me curious about the series. Such a great idea.

    Karen

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow! What a flashback. I devoured Sweet Valley Twins and then moved on to Sweet Valley High. They were the only books I read in school. I didn't discover my love of books until after I graduated College. But the SVT and SVH has a special place in my heart because they were my first.

    ReplyDelete
  7. LOVE Sweet Valley. SVH's were the first books that I read in secret b/c I wasn't really allowed to read them. So scandalous! The board game is also pretty awesome. I can't wait for Ten Years Later :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Subtitle: SVH meets Girls Gone Wild?

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm curious too! I grew up reading the Sweet Valley book that my older cousins passed on to me.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Wow, I remember reading a few of these. I always preferred Sweet Valley High to Sweet Valley Twins, but I read very few of the former. I got a couple from the library and was then told I wasn't allowed to read them because I was "too young" for topics like love. By the time I was "old enough" I never ended up reading that many for some reason.

    I do remember regularly watching the TV show when it was on, though.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous6:46 PM

    Oh, I wish you hadn't told me about this. Now *I* might have to read it too.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Honestly this is awesome news! Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I am so excited for this one. :D I love that the cover looks like the classic Sweet Valley books too. I still can't let go of my old Sweet Valley books (although most of my collection are Twins and Junior High and oh, Unicorn Club!). One day I'm going to have to let go of them...but maybe after I read this. :D

    ReplyDelete
  14. I LOVE the cover! I can't wait to read this one great find! :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. LOVED Sweet Valley High. Only I didn't buy them, I borrowed from the library. Same with Nancy Drew. I love that there is more SVH to come.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I somehow feel cheated that i never read these books.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Ooh, I loved the Sweet Valley High books. Thanks for the fond memory.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Can't wait for this one! :)

    ReplyDelete
  19. Wow, you guys are making me feel happy and much less alone than I thought I might be! I'm even more excited to get my hands on it.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…