Skip to main content

Vicious Pretties

Well, don't these three make you want to run for cover? After grabbing a copy of each and tucking away with them somewhere warm and cozy, of course. I don't know, I think they each look spectacular in their own way and on this fall afternoon I'm feeling like something dangerous and uncertain.

I've actually had my eye on this one for awhile now. Ever since reading an article about it in an Australian newspaper awhile back and being intrigued. Katherine Patterson's life is torn apart when her sister dies. After moving to a new town and a new school, she makes friend with a happy and vivacious girl named Alice and life begins to look up. But there are darker currents running through this friendship and not everything is as it seems. 
Out now. 

I really cannot wait to get my hands on this one. Just look at that cover. And that title! It calls out to me, you guys. It does. Details are few, but it appears this historical mystery is about a young girl whose mother has died and whose father is home from the war and struggling to start a detective agency. His daughter sets out to help him and mystery ensues. Looks like this one will be the first in a series as well. Yay! 
Due out July 19th. 

Gotta love the concept for this debut dystopian. Set in the year 2150, Nina Oberon is approaching her sixteenth birthday with more in the way of trepidation than jubilation. Everything changes when you turn sixteen and get the tattoo marking your status. Then nothing is safe. Meanwhile, Nina's mother is attacked and she's sent searching for a father she was certain was dead. You can read the first chapter here.
Due out January 6th. 

Comments

  1. Beautiful Malice has a look that really grabs you. I also like The girl is Murder because it has a very classic and vintage feel. Great choices!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ive got Beautiful Malice on my TBR Pile and Waiting for my copy of XVI to arrive and The Girl is Murder looks like a good read Ill have to add to my list.
    Im a new follower
    www.thephantomparagrapher.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. It's like a historical Veronica Mars! I'm in love already!

    ReplyDelete
  4. XVI looks like it will be an interesting (but slightly disturbing) read. I'd not heard of the other two but am going to keep track of them for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Cari, yup. Love that vintage feel. I can't wait to find out more!

    Phantom, hey, welcome to these parts! We're happy to have you. I can't wait to see what XVI is really like. It sounds wild. In a good way.

    Donna, exactly! Win, win, win!

    Michelle, definitely disturbing. I think BEAUTIFUL MALICE will be as well.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan