Skip to main content

Victorian Pretties

And now for your creepy, Victorian fix--I bring to the table these three pretties. Two upcoming books and one reissue of a classic. But, man, don't those covers just call out to you to be stroked? Just me? Hmm....

I'm loving the graphic novel feel of this cover. I know very little about it but what I know sounds wildly intriguing. A young girl's debut season. A collection of valuable Egyptian artifacts. A dashing Napoleonic spy. True love. Honestly! I can't imagine being able to turn that combination down. It's topped off with the tagline, "Keep your wits and trust your heart." Awesome. Thanks to the Book Smugglers for the heads up on this one. Due out May 24th.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
I ran across this lovely reissue while browsing Barnes & Noble's site the other day and wow. I am in love with this new design. It's just perfect somehow, with the bright orange and green and the way Mary's looking down at the keyhole. I must have it. Because one of these days I'm going to read it with Piper. Plus. This Penguin Classic rings up at a mere $4.99. Out now.

The Haunting of Charles Dickens by Lewis Buzbee, with illustrations by Greg Ruth
This one is really more middle grade than YA, but it's about a girl named Meg Pickel who's older brother Orion has disappeared. In her haste to track him down, Meg runs across one Mr. Charles Dickens. The two join forces in finding the source of the missing children. I love the cover. Illustrated by Greg Ruth, I just have the feeling this one should not be missed. Due out October 26th. 

Comments

  1. Looove these! Victorian prettiness was the reason I read Soulless by Gail Carriger and ended up really liking it.

    I seriously need to check out Wrapped. Looks awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh my, I haven't seen Wrapped before, but it sounds right up my alley!! How ever will I wait until May?

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love th Jennifer Bradbury one. These all look amazing though. I have been noticing how enticing the new covers of the classic are. Like Lord of the Flies and To Kill A Mockingbird as well as this Secret Garden cover.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I must have that version of The Secret Garden, it's lovely.

    Wrapped sounds rather fabulous too!

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Charles Dickens one sounds a bit like The Man who was Poe (Avi).

    ReplyDelete
  6. $4.99? I need that.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Also I'm definitely all about the stroking. Or hugging to chest. Even if the cover isn't gorgeous. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wrapped looks good! I wants it.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love the cover for Wrapped, so much and spot on observation about it being grpahic novelly, never thought of that until you said.

    On an unrelated note, how did I not notice you had one of my favourite men in your side bar - yummy.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm also love with the cover and synopsis of "Wrapped".

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm another one really looking forward to Wrapped. The cover is great and the synopsis amazing.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan