Skip to main content

Magic Slays Cover

This just in! Ilona Andrews has posted the cover for the fifth Kate Daniels book--Magic Slays. I'm so very excited for this book. As you know, this series is at the very top of my favorite urban fantasy books and the last installment just did not let me down At All. Magic Bleeds was fully awesome from beginning to end and I can already tell this one will be as well. I appreciate the uniformity of these covers, as I do in the Mercy Thompson books. It's always Kate, Slayer, and Curran. The cover for Magic Strikes is still my favorite. But I particularly like the layout of this one, with Kate crouching and looking back, with the moon and the crumbling skyscrapers of Atlanta behind her. What do you think? Magic Slays is due out May 31st.

Comments

  1. I'm not crazy about the model's pose, but I love everything else. I just want the story, though, like everyone else. Gimme. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the uniformity of the covers too - I don't like when a series changes design drastically partway through. This is one of my favourite series as well - I'll be counting down eagerly to May 31st!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Don't like it. The first thing I noticed are the models enormous breasts.

    I prefer the German covers when it comes to this series (here's a link to covers 1-4: http://www.egmont-lyx.de/index.php/cat/c532_andrews,_ilona_-_stadt_der_finsternis.html?view=reihenintro ) although I normally dislike them.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Seeing this just amped up my excitement hugely! It may not be my favorite of the bunch, but I like the background and color palette.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I didn't like the first couple of covers in the series very much, but I've liked the background of the last few, including this one. It has a nice atmosphere. But mostly I just can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I also like the uniformity of the covers. They look good when you put them all together. I really can't wait to read this one!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous9:08 PM

    I have to say this is my least favorite of the Kate Daniels covers...Kate looks like she's all boobs and no muscle. Her face is delicate and model-pretty, her arms have lean, yoga-built muscles, and...yeah, the boobs, they are ridiculously prominent.

    ReplyDelete
  8. My only problem with this is that May 31 is so far away!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Heh. I agree with the all boobs comment, but apart from that, rather nice! I like the background and the colours used in this one.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Kenda, yup. Gimme, gimme, gimme!

    Meghan, I'm already on the count down as well!

    Sabrina, the boobs are out of place for sure. Just not Kate. I hadn't seen those German covers. Very cool! They remind me a bit of the US Vampire Academy covers. I kind of miss Curran on them, tho. :)

    Chelle, agreed. So excited!

    Kristen, yeah, the first two covers did not wow me. I only picked them up for the Patricia Briggs quotes on them, but I really LOVED the cover of MAGIC STRIKES and I love that it's always the three of them.

    Chachic, a very important point. They belong together on my shelf.

    Anon, yeah, the boobs... Although I think the first cover is my least favorite. She just has this sort of bizarre look on her face.

    Steph, exactly! WHY???

    Li, yeah. There seems to be a consensus on Kate's amped up chest on this one. But the background is awesome and the colors as well.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Thanks for posting the new cover! I hadn't seen it yet or even heard that it was out, but I am eagerly awaiting this book! So excited. Love the series so far!

    ReplyDelete
  12. It looks like others have the same opinion as me, but what is up with Kate's horrible boob job? Very odd...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …