Skip to main content

Silhouette Pretties


Great covers and great titles here. I love all three. And I've only read one of these authors before, so I'm interested to see what the other two are like. All contemporary young adult fiction here, something I've been rather in the mood for lately. You can look forward to these this coming spring.

The Piper's Son by Melina Marchetta
Already out in Marchetta's native Australia, The Piper's Son will make its U.S. debut with this awesome cover--very different from the Aussie one. I like both. This is technically a sequel to Saving Francesca, a book I've been ordered to read on several occasions and which I plan to do before release day. And because of that, I don't want to know too much about the sequel. Looks great, though! Due out March 8th.

Future Imperfect by K. Ryer Breese
Details are sketchy, but this debut novel explores the theme of addiction through the experiences of one 17-year-old Ade Patience, who--due to being knocked unconscious--can now see the future. With his life falling apart, he sees Vauxhall Rodolfo coming and, through her, spies hope for the future. That is, if both of them can kick their addictions. Due out April 26th.

The Lucky Kind by Alyssa B. Sheinmel
I'm always intrigued by characters who overtly believe or disbelieve in the notion of luck. Nick Brandt believes his life up to this point has been fairly lucky. Then his parents reveal a secret they've been keeping from him and things take a decidedly unlucky turn as Nick tries to figure out how to handle his loss of trust in his parents. Also, there's a girl. Due out May 10th.

Comments

  1. I really like the cover on "The Lucky Kind".

    I just finished my very first Melina Marchetta novel, Jellicoe Road and I really enjoyed it. In fact I enjoyed it so much that I've ordered all of her novels except for "The Piper's Son".

    Ladybug of Escape In A Book.

    ReplyDelete
  2. They are all lovely, but my favorite, just from the cover, is The Piper's Son. Wait, what? Another Melina Marchetta book? I'm getting so behind!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like both the US and the Australian covers of The Piper's Son. If I had a way to get the Australian one, I would probably have ordered it after I finished Saving Francesca.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just downloaded Saving Francesca so I could be prepared for Piper's Son. I liked Jellicoe Road so I'm hopeful I'll enjoy her other work as well.

    Also, I just finished Scheinmel's The Beautiful Between this week and thought it was fantastic. I'm definitely adding this one to my must have list.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ladybug, it's lovely, isn't it? And I adore JELLICOE ROAD. I'm delighted you did as well. Jonah Griggs...

    Suey, I know! I actually like the US version better than the Oz one, I think. Which is usually not the case.

    Chachic, I've GOT to read SAVING FRANCESCA. I'm so behind on my Marchetta.

    Michelle, ooh, that is good to hear. I wondered about it. Maybe I'll give it a go in the meantime.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan