Skip to main content

Best of 2010

It's New Year's Eve and so here, without further ado, is my Best Books of 2010 list:
Best of 2010
(in order of publication)
The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley (review to come!)

FYI, that's 3 fantasies, 4 contemporaries, 5 urban fantasies, 2 historicals, 1 dystopian, 1 retelling, and 1 short story.

Biggest Character Crush of 2010
Alan Ryves

*a moment of silence, please, for the one and only Alan--the most adorable armed compulsive liar I've ever met*

Biggest Author Crush of 2010
Ilona and Gordon are awesomesauce and that's all there is to it. I look forward to their fun and funny blog posts and to the occasional delectable treat for their readers, such as tasty snippets or hysterical Kate/Curran twitter convos.


Best Books I Read in 2010, Which Were Published a Different Year
Happy All the Time by Laurie Colwin

Comments

  1. I'm feeling pretty good knowing that I've read most of these! All thanks to you, of course! :o) Have a fabulous New Year!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oooo, thanks for posting! My TBR list is getting longer.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks, Angie, for mentioning EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY in your round-up of the year. :-) Happy New Year to you!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Alan :] oh and I love your copy of Magic Bleeds it looks so well read, like all books should...

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've read 6 of your "best of" this year. (Plus Jane is sitting on my table after its delivery yesterday and Anna and the French Kiss is in my library queue.) That's some seriously good stuff. Here's to some great reads in 2011.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Interesting list - I'm a little surprised myself at what I did and didn't love this year. But I read my list of books I was looking forward to in 2010 and everyone of them got a shot, so I feel like I did good. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Yay, so many familiar titles in your list! The ones that I haven't read are in my wishlist. I love that Ilona Andrews is your biggest author crush because I'm a huge fan as well.

    Happy New Year, Angie! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. i see we have four books in common on our favorite reads of the year!

    thanks again, angie, for all the great reviews over this last year. :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. So many good ones I agree with or want to read. Love the crushing categories too.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Happy New Year, Angie! As always, great list, and I'm happy to note that mine shared several with yours. :)

    I've been eyeing up The Winter Sea; can't wait to read what you thought of it.

    ReplyDelete
  11. The Winter Sea was my favorite of the year, and most of your others are on my TBR, and I think we have similar taste, although I liked but did not love Jane. I love Jennifer Cruisie but not that particular book.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am currently reading Daughter of the Forest, and it is KILLING me that I am just getting into it (everything just went down with Oonagh and the Lady of the Forest told Sorcha how to reverse the curse) and tomorrow I go back to school. Why didn't I start this earlier in break??!!

    Thanks for the recommendation!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Love your list. You picked some of my faves from 2010, so I would like to read your other picks as well. Jennifer Crusie is so much fun!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I've taken notes on your best of list, Angie. I have a few of those on my To-Read list that I still haven't gotten to, but The Sky is Everywhere is one that I managed to read in 2010 that made my favorite list, too. So wonderfully written and what an beautiful story...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th