Skip to main content

Tragic Pretties

Just the two pretties for you today, but how very pretty they are. You know how much I love retellings. Bu these aren't just any old retellings. These are epic tragedy retellings. I am so there! I've read a couple of Mette Ivie Harrison's books before, but Josephine Angelini is a newcomer and I'm anxious to see how they both take on the age-old Tristan & Isolde and Helen of Troy myths respectively.

Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison
A modern day retelling of Tristan & Isolde. As if that weren't enough to recommend it. That cover. Oh, that cover. It gives me the feelings. A young witch named Izzie makes a love potion for her best friend and then accidentally ends up drinking it herself and falling in love with the new boy at school--Tristan--and, well, you know the rest. The somewhat slim 272-page count makes me a little nervous, but I'm eager to get my hands on it just the same.
Due out October 11th.

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini
The only thing I wish they'd changed about this one is the title. I realize the inherent appropriateness of it, given that this is a modern retelling of the Helen of Troy myth. But it will also be the honest-to-goodness fourth book I've read with that exact title. Ah, well. Set in Nantucket, Helen Hamilton has dreams of three women weeping tears of blood and slowly realizes that she, like Helen of old, is on a path to start a war.
Due out May 31st.

Comments

  1. Both of these are on my to read list.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous11:09 AM

    Oh. Oh oh oh.

    /incoherent petting of screen

    Pretty coverses. I think, if I'm honest, the title of Starcrossed would have probably put me off without that cover. I appreciate its significance but you'd think, as an author in a relatively wee market of retellings, you'd be anxious to stand out.

    Nevertheless, the shiny cannot be denied. Our cover isn't as shiny. Poop.

    - Elle

    ReplyDelete
  3. These both sound really good and definitely great covers!

    Starcrossed is an odd title choice though. You would think they would want something more original regardless of it being appropriate...

    ReplyDelete
  4. i've def been jonesing for Starcrossed. but, like you, the title makes me BLECH. they should cap titles after like 3 uses. for reals.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I had Starcrossed on my list, but I havent seen Tris and Izzy - oh wow! - I'd buy it purely for the cover, but a retelling of Tristan and Isolde make sit a must have :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is the closest I have come to wanting to lick my computer screen in a while. i want them. i want them bad.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous12:58 PM

    I'm surprised they used that title considering it's also the title of a recent-ish book by Elizabeth C. Bunce (though the capitalization is different... her book is StarCrossed, I believe).

    -FreeNarnian

    ReplyDelete
  8. Um...how are we supposed to wait until October for Tris & Izzie??!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ooooooo! I love Mette Ivie Harrison, and that COVER! It's definitely the most beautiful thing I've seen all day, possibly all week. LOVE.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oooh so pretty. And they're retellings of Tristan and Isolde and Helen of Troy, WANT! I'm adding these to my wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I first heard about Tris and Izzie a couple days ago and I'm already super excited about it.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I think I first saw the cover for the Harrison over at The Book Smugglers. It's definitely striking and I don't think I can pass up a Tristan Isolde retelling. :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ooooh!

    These both look great, but Tris & Izzie definitely gets all my attention! It's just gorgeous, all over, the picture, the font, the idea of a Tristan and Isolde retelling... want!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Did you ever read Marion Zimmer Bradley's The Firebrand?

    ReplyDelete
  15. Anonymous5:39 PM

    Haha, yup, sometimes I'll see a book and think, "I've read that book before" and I'll cycle through possible plots that I think it's about only to find out that the book has nothing to do with what I thought. Then, I'll realize I've probably read other books with the exact same or similar title.

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  16. They are both so gorgeous! I don't read based on covers but man if I did these would immediately be in my pile. Don't get me wrong, they are on my wishlist because the stories behind them sound fantastic too. :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. It seems to me that there's a slew of really gorgeous covers out, but these are above and beyond. I didn't know Mette Ivie Harrison had a new book coming out. And the other sounds intriguing as well.

    ReplyDelete
  18. These two books look amazing!! Great blog and reviews!

    New follower :)

    Kristina
    http://ladybugstorytime.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan