Skip to main content

Classical Pretties


Such very classical themes and characters we have with these three upcoming releases. From Michelangelo to Shakespeare to Greek mythology, I'm very intrigued to see how these historical young adult novels by veteran authors fare. They're also three new-to-me authors and that always holds a certain mystique and draw for me.

David by Mary Hoffman
A behind-the-scenes take on the real story of the identity of Michelangelo's model for the famous David statue. I like the simplicity of the cover. This one sounds a bit like a historical mystery and I'm always looking for another good one of those. Plus, I adore all things Michelangelo and haven't read a really good Michelangelo-related novel since The Agony and the Ecstasy
Due out October 11th.

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay
And to continue in our Italian vein, here we have a revisionist retelling of the true story of Shakespeare's doomed lovers. This time with a less sympathetic Romeo, more eternal consequences, and Juliet working as an agent of the Ambassadors of Light. Absolutely. Why not? Plus, the cover is beautiful. Just beautiful.
Due out September 13th.

Dark of the Moon by Tracy Barrett
And last but not least, a retelling of the minotaur myth. Ariadne and Theseus form a friendship that is doomed to end in sorrow, as Theseus is to be an offering to the monstrous minotaur, who also happens to be Ariadne's brother. Ah, those twisty Greek myths. I love them so. I've never read a retelling of this one and I'm eager to.
Due out September 19th.

Comments

  1. the cover to Juliet Immortal took my breath away. I love it. so much.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The books all look so exciting hopefully you can judge a book by it's cover (:

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh, Oh, not only do I love Greak myths. But the story of the labyrinth is one of my favourite. I love Ariadne and was always hoping to see her come up in some retellings, instead of the much often used Helen of Troy. I can't wait to see what this one will do with the original story (I wonder if they'll change the nature of Theseus much, as in the original story he did turn out to be quite a jackass...)

    ReplyDelete
  4. So, here's what I want to know... how do you always know about what's coming up? Do you get catalogs like the library gets? Or are you always searching for the new stuff on the internet? Or are you subscribed to all publishers newsletters, etc? And then actually read through them? I really do want to know!

    ReplyDelete
  5. What a nice overview and invitation to read. And, as always, what a fine blog. I always enjoy stopping by. Also, ditto what Suey said.

    Thanks, peace,
    Diane

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh I must read Juliet Immortal! It sounds amazing.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks - these look great, particularly Dark of the Moon. I've always had a soft spot for mythology.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …