Skip to main content

November Cakes

For those of you who've read The Scorpio Races, you'll know what these are. And for those of you who haven't yet (it's due out tomorrow), you'll soon be in for a treat. Reading about the November cakes was like reading about the Cinnamon Rolls as Big as Your Head from Sunshine. You just want one Right Now. Served at the local bakery and festival around race time, the description of the November cakes made my mouth water while reading. And then Maggie went and posted her very own recipe for them, and I just had to try making them for dessert yesterday. I had to grin as I ate one, picturing Finn smiling as he placed one in Puck's hand and Sean and Puck munching on them quietly as they sat atop the cliffs gazing out to sea.

So, here's the recipe:
November Cakes recipe
And here's what it makes:
Yum.

Comments

  1. Anonymous11:37 AM

    Why does this food make me more excited about the book than the great reviews for the book do? hmm...this says something [probably none too flattering, lol] about me...

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can't believe you got this! I go to her site a lot but didn't see this. I wanted it ever since I read the book. Thanks for posting it - I am posting my review next Sunday and I will add it and cite you for it - yay!

    ReplyDelete
  3. librarian, lol. I totally understand. Somehow, knowing your senses are going to be engaged can be a big draw for a book you weren't sold on.

    rhapsody, me too! I was so excited when I saw it was real. Can't wait to read your review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. There's a recipe?! I'm totally making these. I can still see and feel the sticky glaze dripping on Puck's palm on the cliffs.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Holly, yes! Oh, yes . . .

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous1:40 PM

    Oh sweet heavens thank you for posting this! I just read FYA's review and started foaming at the mouth when I read about cake, period. This is awesome and sounds so tasty!

    ReplyDelete
  7. covergirl, lol. You're welcome!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I LOVE this! Both that there's a recipe and that you made them :) I just bought The Scorpio Races and I can't wait to start!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Alexa, doesn't the whole thing just make you grin? Enjoy the book. It's special.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh, beautiful. I'm glad these will become part of the mythology, aren't you?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's