Skip to main content

November Cakes

For those of you who've read The Scorpio Races, you'll know what these are. And for those of you who haven't yet (it's due out tomorrow), you'll soon be in for a treat. Reading about the November cakes was like reading about the Cinnamon Rolls as Big as Your Head from Sunshine. You just want one Right Now. Served at the local bakery and festival around race time, the description of the November cakes made my mouth water while reading. And then Maggie went and posted her very own recipe for them, and I just had to try making them for dessert yesterday. I had to grin as I ate one, picturing Finn smiling as he placed one in Puck's hand and Sean and Puck munching on them quietly as they sat atop the cliffs gazing out to sea.

So, here's the recipe:
November Cakes recipe
And here's what it makes:
Yum.

Comments

  1. Anonymous11:37 AM

    Why does this food make me more excited about the book than the great reviews for the book do? hmm...this says something [probably none too flattering, lol] about me...

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can't believe you got this! I go to her site a lot but didn't see this. I wanted it ever since I read the book. Thanks for posting it - I am posting my review next Sunday and I will add it and cite you for it - yay!

    ReplyDelete
  3. librarian, lol. I totally understand. Somehow, knowing your senses are going to be engaged can be a big draw for a book you weren't sold on.

    rhapsody, me too! I was so excited when I saw it was real. Can't wait to read your review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. There's a recipe?! I'm totally making these. I can still see and feel the sticky glaze dripping on Puck's palm on the cliffs.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Holly, yes! Oh, yes . . .

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous1:40 PM

    Oh sweet heavens thank you for posting this! I just read FYA's review and started foaming at the mouth when I read about cake, period. This is awesome and sounds so tasty!

    ReplyDelete
  7. covergirl, lol. You're welcome!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I LOVE this! Both that there's a recipe and that you made them :) I just bought The Scorpio Races and I can't wait to start!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Alexa, doesn't the whole thing just make you grin? Enjoy the book. It's special.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh, beautiful. I'm glad these will become part of the mythology, aren't you?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan