Skip to main content

November Cakes

For those of you who've read The Scorpio Races, you'll know what these are. And for those of you who haven't yet (it's due out tomorrow), you'll soon be in for a treat. Reading about the November cakes was like reading about the Cinnamon Rolls as Big as Your Head from Sunshine. You just want one Right Now. Served at the local bakery and festival around race time, the description of the November cakes made my mouth water while reading. And then Maggie went and posted her very own recipe for them, and I just had to try making them for dessert yesterday. I had to grin as I ate one, picturing Finn smiling as he placed one in Puck's hand and Sean and Puck munching on them quietly as they sat atop the cliffs gazing out to sea.

So, here's the recipe:
November Cakes recipe
And here's what it makes:
Yum.

Comments

  1. Anonymous11:37 AM

    Why does this food make me more excited about the book than the great reviews for the book do? hmm...this says something [probably none too flattering, lol] about me...

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can't believe you got this! I go to her site a lot but didn't see this. I wanted it ever since I read the book. Thanks for posting it - I am posting my review next Sunday and I will add it and cite you for it - yay!

    ReplyDelete
  3. librarian, lol. I totally understand. Somehow, knowing your senses are going to be engaged can be a big draw for a book you weren't sold on.

    rhapsody, me too! I was so excited when I saw it was real. Can't wait to read your review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. There's a recipe?! I'm totally making these. I can still see and feel the sticky glaze dripping on Puck's palm on the cliffs.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Holly, yes! Oh, yes . . .

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous1:40 PM

    Oh sweet heavens thank you for posting this! I just read FYA's review and started foaming at the mouth when I read about cake, period. This is awesome and sounds so tasty!

    ReplyDelete
  7. covergirl, lol. You're welcome!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I LOVE this! Both that there's a recipe and that you made them :) I just bought The Scorpio Races and I can't wait to start!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Alexa, doesn't the whole thing just make you grin? Enjoy the book. It's special.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh, beautiful. I'm glad these will become part of the mythology, aren't you?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th