Skip to main content

For Darkness Shows the Stars Cover

It's covertastic around these parts lately! This time in a very good way. Here you have the absolutely gorgeous cover for Diana Peterfreund's upcoming novel For Darkness Shows the Stars. My excitement for this post-apocalyptic retelling of Persuasion (yes, you have my permission to swoon from the sheer awesome) has been building for some time now, and I am thrilled to finally see the actual cover. I love it. Love the sweep of the dress, the stars, the font, her hair. Love it all. Your thoughts?

For Darkness Shows the Stars is due out June 12th.

Comments

  1. Anonymous12:44 PM

    The stars! The type choice! I can do without the girl and her dress, but I absolutely LOVE this title. Love it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the synopsis for the book but I'm a bit disappointed by the cover. I wanted something different from the pretty girl in a pretty dress cover.

    ReplyDelete
  3. PERSUASION is my favorite Austen novel. I want this so bad. SO BAD.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love Persuasion! That means that I want to read this one. How can you possibly do a new Captain Wentworth?! Can't wait to figure it out.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sabrina, I understand what you mean about hat look being a trend. But since this book is focused on a romance, we wanted to do something that was overtly, sweepingly romantic, rather than the more desolate/violent look of some post-apocalyptic covers. So though at first glance it does fit into that trend, it is even more fitting to the tone of the book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. K, the cover is awesome but a retelling of Persuasion? I'm so there!

    ReplyDelete
  7. OK, I screamed when I saw this. SCREAMED.

    June!?

    ReplyDelete
  8. covergirl, I know. The title is awesome and I'm so glad the marketing team let her keep it.

    Sabrina, I know what you mean. Though this one immediately struck me as more whimsical and stylistic than the majority of girl-in-flowing-dress covers we see so many of these days.

    Janice, SO bad. I knew that about you. It's my favorite as well. Cannot wait.

    Mari, I'm so intrigued by the idea as well. It's one of my favorite relationships and I know Diana is a big Austen fan as well, so I feel sure it (and he) are safe in her hands. :)

    Diana, yay for cover reveals and you stopping by. I really do love this one. And I'm glad it reflects the more romantic tone of the book.

    Jenny, right?? Brilliant.

    Laura, hehe. I knew you would. And, I know. JUNE. *sigh*

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't read Persuasion yet BUT I was still excited once I saw the book being mentioned on Diana's site. That cover is stunning!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love it all as well, particularly the font type, the yellow and pink and the stars. The drawing of the girl and her understated sweeping dress is so different from the trend (photo of a girl in a frilly, froufy dress) that I don't mind it.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I have faith and I look forward to a romantic hero :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. To me, the dress's swoosh have a night sky naturalness--even Goddess effect. Rather than sexualized, the girl represents a certain form of innocence and elegance I associated with Austen. That said, I hate Austen, so I probably won't read the book

    ReplyDelete
  13. The cover immediately drew my eye, I think its gorgeous. I love that she has her eyes closed, it seems very ethereal. I can't even wrap my mind around a post-apocalyptic Persuasion, but I can't wait to read it. I added this to my wishlist before I even commented on this post!
    Great blog by the way, I saw your blogs name pop up on two separate blog posts today so I had to come check it out! I'm so glad that I did!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Persuasion also is my favorite. So I'm so there for this book! Gorgeous cover!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Sandy, isn't it? I love it. I wonder if this one will inspire more readers to read PERSUASION once it's out? It really is wonderful in every way.

    Holly, exactly. Well said.

    Mari, me too. :)

    Bets, LOL. Well there you go. Although, given the post-apocalypticness of this and all the changes that would require, it might be worth a look-see. Just sayin' . . .

    Booker, hey, thanks for stopping by! I'm glad you did. Who's been talkin' about me?! lol. And I know what you mean about wrapping your brain around it. I can't wait to find out what it's really like.

    Lin, yep. Nothing could keep me away.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan