Skip to main content

Watery Pretties


I feel a bit like I'm drowning looking at these three watery covers. But I'm kind of drawn to them as well. I love the font on New Girl and the other two are creepy and grand in their own way. I've never read anything by any of these authors. All three due are out in the first half of next year, and I'm interested to find out more.


When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellison
Eerie cover, no? And the contents sound fairly grim as well, but in a most intriguing way. Arranged marriages, fake deaths, vampires, magic from the ocean, and washing dishes in the slums. As Abed would say, "Cool. Cool, cool, cool, cool."
Due out February 28th.

New Girl by Paige Harbison
This one caught my eye because it's a contemporary retelling of Rebecca. I know! The mind boggles at the possibilities. Set at the prestigious Manderley Academy (lol) where the "new girl" is trying to fit in in a world where the name Becca Normandy is on everybody's lips. Awesome.
Due out January 31st.

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks
Emma is on vacation in Florida when a dangerous encounter with a shark results in the opening up of an entirely unknown world. An ocean kingdom and a prince in need of saving are suddenly at the forefront of Emma's mind. That and her hitherto unknown ability to communicate with fish. Count me in.
Due out May 22nd.

Comments

  1. I just downloaded New Girl from NetGalley and I'm really excited about it too!

    ReplyDelete
  2. A retelling of Rebecca! I hope it's eerie and wonderful.

    ReplyDelete
  3. A retelling of Rebecca? Count me in! In fact, that would fit perfectly for the one challenge I signed up for next year.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like these covers! They are so pretty. I've seen these covers a few times, but haven't really pay much attention to the stories. They all sound good. Great picks! Thank you for sharing!

    Sam
    Books For All Seasons

    ReplyDelete
  5. I read Rebecca on our family vacation to North Carolina and I could not put it down.....except to do some boogie boarding with my cool cousins, but oh wouldn't it be awesome if New Girl was even half as good. I'll cross my fingers. Happy Thanksgiving. We miss you all!

    ReplyDelete
  6. REBECCA IS ONE OF MY FAVE BOOKS EVER!! That book is so mine when it comes out! Day two of you making me getting really excited about something lol

    ReplyDelete
  7. Those ARE pretty.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Allison, yeah, when I heard the premise, I was in. *fingerscrossed*

    JoLee, exactly. Me, too.

    Jenny, really? Awesome.

    Samual, my pleasure. It's funny the trends you see appearing.

    Liz, you read it that summer? That's so cool. That was such a great trip. I have fond memories of it and wish we could do something similar again. Hope your Thanksgiving is a good one. I always miss you.

    Jamie, hehe. I'm 2 for 2.

    Janice, they really are. Love the glowing tones on OF POSEIDON.

    ReplyDelete
  9. The watery covers really are beautiful aren't they? I always envy artists who are able to create such beauty and make it as unique as possible given the glut in the market.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I like the sound of Of Poseidon. Kinda like a female YA Percy Jackson, maybe?

    ReplyDelete
  11. Beautiful covers.
    I have 'New Girl' and I probably I should read it ;)) I hope it is as good as the cover.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan