Skip to main content

Icy Pretties

The good news is these are all due out in the spring. So, not really that far away at all. The bad news is one of them is only coming out in Australia. When, oh when, will the American publishers tune in to the awesome that is Kirsty Eagar? I refer you to my review of Raw Blue. All three look interesting to me, and I'll be searching them out come springtime for sure.

Night Beach by Kirsty Eagar
After falling hard and fast for Raw Blue, I am quivering with anticipation over this upcoming release. As with its predecessor, this one looks like it involves surfing and a girl finding solace in the sea. Unlike its predecessor, it also has Gothic mystery elements. Uh-huh. Where do I sign?
Due out (in Australia) April 26th.

The Selection by Kiera Cass
Another pretty dress, I know. Apparently I am still prey to the allure of the ruffles and the endless reflections. Ah, well. You can only grow up so fast. This is a dystopian. And though it does sound a bit like Princess Academy meets The Bachelor, I'm intrigued by the caste system and the selected living in a palace under rebel assault.
Due out April 24th.

Pure by Julianna Baggott
This one is popping up under post-apocalyptic, steampunk, and young adult labels alike. It's also garnering rave reviews from the likes of Richard Russo and Justin Cronin. Featuring mechanical butterflies and a society of the damaged versus the pure, I'm cautiously optimistic.
Due out February 8th.

Comments

  1. Ah, I'm such a sucker for a pretty cover, too. I'm really looking forward to Night Beach; I have complicated feelings about the other two titles, hah.

    Love the "icy beauties" title, btw!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wendy, lol. Understood. NIGHT BEACH I can't wait for.

      Delete
  2. What is it with books coming out years, yes, years, before us in Australia? It makes me crazy! These covers are all intriguing and now I'll have to check them out and most likely add them to the old TBR shelf.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jenny, sigh. It's maddening sometimes, isn't it?

      Delete
  3. The Night Beach looks amazing. i still have to read Raw Blue, but I've heard so many great things about it.

    I had the exact same reaction when I heard about The Selection, but it does sound good and that cover is gorgeous!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Alexa, YOU MUST READ RAW BLUE. That is all.

      Delete
  4. Psh. I'm totally into the Bachelor. And princesses. And competitions. Very excited about The Selection

    ReplyDelete
  5. Really looking forward to Night Beach as well! It has such an atmospheric cover.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ah, Night Beach sounds promising after Saltwater Vampires. Maybe I'll be able to catch it on tour or something.Love this feature as always, enough so that I wish it were my own. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Holly, hehe. We must covergush every now and again.

      Delete
  7. Tired of girls in pretty dresses but up for anything with a pink sparkly cupcake!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I actually received a review copy of Pure, but I haven't read it yet. It's still available from NetGalley.com if you want to request a copy of it and review it. It won't be a physical copy, but at least you wouldn't have to wait!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jonathan, ooh. Luck you. I did see it up on NG. Thanks for reminding me!

      Delete
  9. I just got Pure on NetGalley, so I am looking forward to that. Of course, I am gaga over anything Eagar - I really adore the Night Beach cover. Yes, when will publishers learn about the awesome? To fishpond I go until then!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. bb, let me know what you think, will ya? I'm curious. And, yes, anything Eagar is fine by me.

      Delete
  10. Those are such beautiful covers! Very exciting.

    Also, North and South is pretty much the best movie ever. Richard Armitage...Mmmmmm...

    Sarah Allen
    (my creative writing blog)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm currently reading Pure; it took me a couple of chapters, but I'm starting to really get into it. The people/plants/animals in this world are bizarre.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Melanie, hm. Bizarre worlds can be good.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan