Skip to main content

Defiant Pretties

I'm not usually a fan of having whole entire people on book covers. Especially when they're on the photo realistic side of things. But I have to say, I like all three of these covers just fine. Something to do with the defiance on their faces and how they look very much as though they're inhabiting who they are, if that makes any sense at all. The titles are a bit of awesome as well, and I'm just very excited to give each one a whirl.

Edie Spencer works on the secret ward of the county hospital. The one they don't want you to know about. The paranormal ward. She thinks she's got the hang of it when a vampire dies on her shift. All hell breaks loose--literally. I am in the mood for some great, new urban fantasy, and I just think this one's going to be right up my alley.
Due out May 22nd

Brand spankin' new scifi from Garth Nix? Heck, yeah! The day Khemri is declared a prince is the day his life becomes permanently endangered. On a mission across space, he must simultaneously train to be a prince while fighting to stay alive from other princes who are trying to kill him. In other words, spacey goodness.
Due out May 15th

Escaping an intolerable arranged marriage, Ismae finds safety within a convent's walls. But life seems to hold an even more dangerous fate for her than marriage. Trained as an assassin, she must hone her new found gift at the expense of the lives of others. This one is giving me a bit of a Graceling vibe. Which clearly means it must be mine yesterday.
Due out April 3rd

Comments

  1. Grave Mercy is on my wishlist and I can't wait to read it. A Confusion of Princes is not the kind of books I read, but it's calling me...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Gaby, doesn't Grave Mercy look AWESOME?!

      And I can vouch for Nix. He's great.

      Delete
  2. *GASP*! New, Garth Nix! *grabby hands*. I am excited. Now I'm off to go look up more about it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Janice, I know! Go forth and grab.

      Delete
  3. I want all three of these!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lin, as do I. I'm getting very excited for these spring releases.

      Delete
  4. I haven't heard of any of these yet, but the Nightshifted one intrigues me with the creature behind the door!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Isn't that a great touch? I love it.

      Delete
  5. A new Garth Nix? I am there.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Really looking forward to reading the latest from Garth Nix! It looks promising.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think so, too. Love a promising new scifi.

      Delete
  7. A NEW Garth Nix?! Wow.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh wow! I think I'm most looking forward to Nightshifted - it sounds like it may have some good potential! But of course the Garth Nix is a must-read also.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Kim, so much potential. And I really am in the mood for some awesome straight-up urban fantasy.

      Delete
  9. Found your blog on Author E.M.S....wanted to stop to look around.

    NEW FOLLOWER

    Elizabeth

    Silver's Reviews

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan