Skip to main content

October Pretties

I am so excited about these upcoming releases. All three are due out in October (within a week of each other, actually), which seems so very far away at this point. I love all three covers, all three titles, and all three fascinating premises. I have never read anything by these authors, so it's anyone's guess as to how things will play out. I do have to say that I love that Eve & Adam is written by a husband-and-wife team. Other such teams have worked out just incredibly well for me in the past. I look forward to adding another set to the list.

Eve & Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
After a bad accident, Eve (short for Evening) realizes she's healing faster than is to be expected. Recuperating in her mother's biotech lab, she and an unusual guy named Solo embark on the creation of the perfect boy.
Due out October 2nd.

Ironskin by Tina Connolly
Steampunk faery retelling of Jane Eyre. I could elaborate, but I think I'm gonna exercise a little restraint and just let that little chunk of awesomesauce sink in.
Due out October 2nd.

Jepp, Who Defied the Stars by Katherine Marsh
Historical fiction, ho! This one sounds part Shakespeare, part Three Musketeers and follows a court dwarf called Jepp who sets out to find his destiny and finds the adventure of a lifetime. That cover is just achingly gorgeous.
Due out October 9th.

Comments

  1. I had heard of the first two, but Jepp, Who Defied the Stars is new to me. Looks amazing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Doesn't it? I sat and drooled for a bit after running across it.

      Delete
  2. I'm a sucker for the starry covers, every time. Oh and I love the idea of a steampunk faery Jane Eyre - just so much potential!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Melissa, oh, so am I. It's in that same lovely vein as the covers of MARCELO IN THE REAL WORLD and I'LL BE THERE. *happysigh*

      And IRONSKIN is just a must with that premise. Wowzers.

      Delete
  3. These do sound very interesting. Wow, steampunk faery Jane Eyre - talk about mixing genres!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Rhapsody, right?! It's too awesome sounding not to check out.

      Delete
  4. The amount I want IRONSKIN knows no bounds.

    ReplyDelete
  5. All three of those sound ridiculously awesome.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Livi, this is what I am thinking. October can arrive any time now.

      Delete
  6. Wow, wow, and wow! All three of these look great!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lisa, that is gonna be one STELLAR book week!

      Delete
  7. I had only seen the cover for Eve & Adam, so the other two were new to me. I can't wait, they all sound fantastic! A retelling of Jane Eyre, yes please.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lizzy, exactly. It will be mine.

      Delete
  8. "A steampunk JANE EYRE?" All I need to know indeed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Michelle, me too! I'm wild with delight.

      Delete
  9. Anonymous12:51 PM

    October will be such a difficult month for my wallet! I'm waiting on these three and a couple more; I'm not sure how I'll decide which to read first! But being that Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books ever, Ironskin is probably the one I'm the most excited about (and a little scared of, to be honest!)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Kay, ha! So true. And I hear ya on the slightly scared front. It could obviously go SO wrong. But the lure of it going so right reels me in.

      Delete
  10. I have all of these on my list as well! I'm especially nervous about Ironskin. It could really go either way, but I'm hoping it's good!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Heidi, exactly! Ahhh, the agony...

      Delete
  11. Of those, the cover that really catches my eye is the Eve and Adam one, but the contents of Jepp sounds like something I would love!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Marg, isn't that one shiny? I can't wait to see a finished copy in person.

      Delete
  12. A steampunk version of Jane Eyre???? I am so there!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Just stuck it on my wish list. I'm getting this book.

      Delete
  13. They're all stunning, but the ADAM & EVE one is BOMB! I want it in my hands NOW!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Victoria, that cover just really works for me. So intrigued to find out what's inside.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan