Skip to main content

Les Misérables Extended First Look

You've likely already seen this, but it's quite beyond me not to post it here. I have very little to say except that, what with this one and The Hobbit, it's going to be a lovely Christmas.

Comments

  1. Replies
    1. When Fantine starts singing? Sigh . . . can't wait.

      Delete
  2. msaggie9:02 PM

    I think I have seen this live in London at least 5 times over the last 20 years or so, and the same scenes always make me cry. It's such a powerful story at so many levels, and I hope the movie will be as good as watching it live. thanks for posting this clip, Angie.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I first saw it in London as well! It was brilliant. I recently saw a smaller production of it and it certainly put me in the mood for the film.

      My pleasure!

      Delete
  3. Ooh, I'm so excited! I didn't know they were recording it with live singing, and that puts to rest some of my concerns about the movie carrying the power of the live show. When I was a teenager, it was Eponine dying that brought my tears, now it's Fantine, reaching for her baby...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. I was surprised and pleased to hear that.

      And the same emotional shift happened to me, too, Jolie.

      Delete
  4. Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway in the same film!! Two of my favs actors!! THIS X-mas!! I'm going to die!! :D In fact, I made a post about this in my blog too!!

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome! Sweet anticipation . . .

      Delete
  5. Would you believe I'm not at all familiar with Les Mise other than the basic premise? So embarrassing. My teen and I talked about reading it together over the summer and we never got around to it. In any case, I'm really looking forward to the film.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol. I would not believe that, Christine! Then you should really enjoy the film. :) I'd love to hear your thoughts on it afterward. It's a beautiful story.

      Delete
  6. When I saw the preview for this in the movie theater a few weeks ago I started hyperventilating. Not even kidding. Hugh Jackman as Jean Valjean? So fabulous. Lovely Christmas, indeed.

    My only question: can Russell Crowe sing? I really need a good Javert.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Like Musings in Red, Jackman and Hathaway are two of my favorite actors too.

    I love the idea of live singing. I can't wait!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …