Skip to main content

Les Misérables Extended First Look

You've likely already seen this, but it's quite beyond me not to post it here. I have very little to say except that, what with this one and The Hobbit, it's going to be a lovely Christmas.

Comments

  1. Replies
    1. When Fantine starts singing? Sigh . . . can't wait.

      Delete
  2. msaggie9:02 PM

    I think I have seen this live in London at least 5 times over the last 20 years or so, and the same scenes always make me cry. It's such a powerful story at so many levels, and I hope the movie will be as good as watching it live. thanks for posting this clip, Angie.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I first saw it in London as well! It was brilliant. I recently saw a smaller production of it and it certainly put me in the mood for the film.

      My pleasure!

      Delete
  3. Ooh, I'm so excited! I didn't know they were recording it with live singing, and that puts to rest some of my concerns about the movie carrying the power of the live show. When I was a teenager, it was Eponine dying that brought my tears, now it's Fantine, reaching for her baby...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. I was surprised and pleased to hear that.

      And the same emotional shift happened to me, too, Jolie.

      Delete
  4. Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway in the same film!! Two of my favs actors!! THIS X-mas!! I'm going to die!! :D In fact, I made a post about this in my blog too!!

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome! Sweet anticipation . . .

      Delete
  5. Would you believe I'm not at all familiar with Les Mise other than the basic premise? So embarrassing. My teen and I talked about reading it together over the summer and we never got around to it. In any case, I'm really looking forward to the film.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol. I would not believe that, Christine! Then you should really enjoy the film. :) I'd love to hear your thoughts on it afterward. It's a beautiful story.

      Delete
  6. When I saw the preview for this in the movie theater a few weeks ago I started hyperventilating. Not even kidding. Hugh Jackman as Jean Valjean? So fabulous. Lovely Christmas, indeed.

    My only question: can Russell Crowe sing? I really need a good Javert.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Like Musings in Red, Jackman and Hathaway are two of my favorite actors too.

    I love the idea of live singing. I can't wait!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion, Vols. 1 & 2 by Beth Brower

I feel a bit giddy finally talking to you all about this series. If you'll remember, I fell madly in love with The Q  when it came out a few years ago. Now, Beth Brower is writing The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion — a series of novellas set in London in 1883. Each volume is an excerpt from the incorrigible Emma's journals, and the first two volumes are already available with the third on the way soon. I think they'd make rather perfect pandemic reading. Humorous and charming down to their bones, they're just what the doctor ordered to lift your spirits in this uncertain time that just proves to be too much some days. If you're experiencing one of those days, I suggest giving Volume 1   a go (it's only 99 cents on Kindle, $4.99 for a trade paperback copy). It will surprise exactly none of you that I own print and digital editions of both volumes.  Miss Emma M. Lion has waited long enough. Come hell or high water (and really, given her track record,  both a

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of