Skip to main content

Retro Pretties

Two pretties posts in a month (barely)! You can tell I'm looking ahead these days. Just the two pretties for you this Wednesday morning/afternoon. But truthfully I was so taken with this pair of covers, I didn't even really want to slap anything else up there with them. I'm content to sit and gaze at them admiringly, imagining what they'll feel like when at last they're in my hands.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
I read Rowell's first book, Attachments, with uneven results. I adored the first third of the book. Loved the hushed setup full of awkward longing. Unfortunately, the pacing stuttered for me after that and it was a chore to finish. Many loved it though, and I always sort of planned on checking out what she wrote next. This one takes place in 1986 and features a couple of misfits wrestling with first love and mix tapes. I am in deep smit with that cover. Everything about it is awesome. And check out that cover blurb. Not too shabby.
Due out February 26th

Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff
And here's one by a lady who comfortably resides on my "I read whatever she writes first and ask questions later" list. Described by the author as "a heartrending future classic" (hehehe), it is rumored also to include Easter eggs and copious amounts of French toast. It's the rain-spotted, neon sign cover with the dog on top that really gets to me, though. With Rosoff it's anyone's guess what you'll find inside. Thank the gods for authors who surprise me.
Due out March 7th

Comments

  1. I also had mixed feelings about Attachments, but the premise of Eleanor & Park excites me greatly. I'll add this to my wish list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good. It's not just me. I think this one might just be better, though. Here's hoping!

      Delete
  2. I love both of those covers--they're so fresh. (I am so over same old, same old covers.) The Picture Me Gone one would jump out at me on a shelf for sure.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Exactly. It's a breath of fresh air to see these.

      Delete
  3. Love these! It's nice to see some brightness when it seems so many covers are so dark.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good point, Dina. I hadn't thought of that, but there does seem to be a plethora of darkness lately.

      Delete
  4. Ah E&P love :) The US cover is so much nicer too.

    I had no idea about Picture Me Gone, that's such a great cover though, I'm looking forward to it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Your review put me in mind of it, Alexa. I'm really looking forward to E&P.

      Delete
  5. Meg Rosoff is also on my I will read anything she writes list. And yes, that cover is terrific.

    ReplyDelete
  6. These are gorgeous! Thanks for pointing them out *adds them to list*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My pleasure. So nice to have things to look forward to.

      Delete
  7. Now that I've read the post you wrote for us, I know why you probably like Rosoff's How I Live Now. (*cough*) I've been eyeing that cover for a while now. Hadn't heard of the Rainbow Rowell book but it is a pretty adorable cover. Also, 80s? Mix tapes? Psht, like I could even not love those things.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. HA! I knew I was gonna regret that admission at some point. I swear it's total coincidence . . . But my love for HOW I LIVE NOW runs strong and deep.

      And the Rowell cover and setup is too good to miss for sure.

      Delete
  8. I am sooo adding Eleanor & Park to my list!! I work at Barnes & Noble, and unfortunately, my list just keeps getting longer and longer!! XD

    lols :))

    Thanks for the post!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I keep meaning to read Attachments. I've only read one of Rosoff's books, too (How I Live Now). Rosoff's writing was amazing, but the story took a while to get into. I do have Just In Case, though, and I've heard it's quite good...you're making my TBR shake, Angie. That doesn't help!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Her writing really is outstanding, isn't it John? And JUST IN CASE is no exception. I'd read it next for sure.

      Lol.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan