Skip to main content

A Spear of Summer Grass Cover

A Spear of Summer Grass is Deanna Raybourn's next full-length novel. Set in the twenties, it features a flapper who heads to Kenya "in search of adventure." I really don't need anything else to convince me, but I do love this cover and how different it is from her others. It screamed Out of Africa the first time I saw it, but my favorite bits are the aged creases, as though it were a faded photograph someone had folded and kept in her pocket. Due out May 1st or April 23rd (depending on where you check). I am so looking forward to the spring now. Fortunately, we've got the Lady Julia Grey Christmas novella coming out in just a couple of weeks to tide us over until this one comes out.

Comments

  1. Oh that cover is gorgeous - I love the marked change from the Lady Julia novels, but it's still so beautiful. I can't wait for it! I'm slightly worried that being in the UK I may not be able to get my little grabby hands on the LJG novella when it's released though!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. It was the perfect direction to go coverwise.

      Oh dear. Surely they'll release it there as well!

      Delete
  2. I am so excited for this book. I love Lady Julia, but I'm excited to see what Deanna Raybourn can do with this time period. She really hasn't disappointed me yet. :) When I see the cover and the little blurb we've gotten, I'm reminded of M.M. Kay's "Death In..." series, which is one of my all time favorites. LOL - I'll probaby try to dampen my enthusiasm down to something more reasonable before it's actually released but for now I'm blissfully happy.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's the thing with authors who always come through for you. You don't feel that nervous terror when they embark on a new thing.

      I haven't read any M.M. Kay. You recommend then?

      Delete
    2. I love M.M. Kaye (oops, I had to fix the spelling) and her Death In books are some of my very favorite books to re-read. They are dated and the newer covers are nasty looking, but they really take me to another place and time.

      Delete
    3. Hm . . . sounds lovely. I will have to explore.

      Delete
  3. Flapper dress? 20s? I'm in! :)) And you're right, the cover "creases" are a nice touch!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hehe. Yeah, there's really nothing not to love about that synopsis.

      Delete
  4. Raybourn, flappers, and Africa? BE STILL MY HEART.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I found your site on someone's blogroll. The cover of the book is an immediate attention-getter and I had to see what it is about. The cover's gorgeous and I really thought it was an old vintage book at first! I'll be keeping this one in mind. Thanks for sharing.

    Love the urbane, fantastical sensibility of your header too :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you found your way over here, June. :) It really does look vintage, doesn't it? The art designers really nailed it with this one.

      Thanks for the header compliment! My brother is a lovely artist and he created it for me.

      Delete
  6. I am looking forward to both this book and Lauren Willig's African set book too! Interesting that they are both coming out at around the same time!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That is interesting! I had no idea.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan