Skip to main content

Smugglivus 2012!

Psst. You guys. It's December 1st! I'll meet you over by the usual palm tree, aka Book Smugglers Central, where I will be holding court with my annual awards for the best of 2012. From Meet-Cutes and Mid-Series Game Changers to Declarations and Comfort Reads, we'll be hashing it out. Stop by and weigh in. I'll see you there!

Comments

  1. As I mentioned at Book Smugglers, it's always fun to see you participate in Smugglivus. In fact, that's how I learned about The Book Smugglers in the first place--through your blog. Great choices there! I read Nightshifted and For Darkness Shows the Stars, because you told me about her.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Lin! And I'm happy to have directed you there. They've been entertaining and recommending good stuff for quite awhile now. Hope you enjoyed both of those!

      Delete
  2. Anonymous5:51 PM

    Such a great list, Angie. I was very tempted to start ordering some of the books on that list! I really must read Hunting Ground and Fair Game before Frost Burned comes out. And I really miss Deanna Raybourn!

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol. I aim to tempt.

      Fair Game is such a payoff, I think, for that series. Kudos to her.

      Delete
  3. You nailed it again! There are so many exciting books to look forward to next year. The anticipation.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aw, thanks, JoLee! So happy to hear that.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …