Skip to main content

In Which Richard Armitage Reads North and South


You're welcome.

Comments

  1. Anonymous12:03 PM

    That is one of my favorite scenes from the book (and movie), but to hear him read it? Just, wow!
    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Karen, I know! It struck me speechless.

      Delete
  2. It's like you know just what I want, Angie.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous2:04 PM

    Gosh. This has made my night! Thank you for showcasing this!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love it. I adore the book and the Richard Armitage, er I mean, the TV version with Richard Armitage *cough* ;)

    I wish there was an audio version of the whole book read by him. I could listen to his voice all day...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would buy that audiobook so fast. It seems like a no-brainer to me. I can't believe they haven't done it yet.

      His voice . . .

      Delete
  5. msaggie2:48 PM

    Thanks so much for posting this, Angie. I love North and South very much (probably more than Pride and Prejudice). It's certainly a lot more passionate. If you loved the BBC mini-series, you should read the book itself as it expands on many of the scenes. Elizabeth Gaskell describes so well how those two fell in love. I feel a re-read coming on!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have the book and I'm just sort of saving it for the right time. I know I'll love it.

      Delete
  6. God bless you, Angie. If you need me, I'll be in a puddle on the floor.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh my! Is it hot in here or what??? Love that scene, that reading!!!!! Loved him in The Hobbit also!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does feel a bit close, now that you mention it. It really was the perfect scene to have him read,

      He greatly enhanced The Hobbit for me as well.

      Delete
  8. Replies
    1. It's kind of the epitome of swoon-worthy.

      Delete
  9. When I found this clip on tumblr, my heart did a happy dance but it's even better as a youtube video with that photo montage. *emits a big, happy sigh* His voice is so lovely.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a perfect voice. The man is in possession of the perfect voice.

      Delete
  10. Such a treat, thank-you! This is incredible, that voice is to die for XD

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is incredible. And incredible treat.

      Delete
  11. You just made my evening! Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! I'm delighted to have made your evening.

      Delete
  12. Replies
    1. It's that good. You are welcome!

      Delete
  13. Anonymous10:11 AM

    Ahh! I can't wait to get home so I can listen! Love Richard Armitage! And North and South. I really need to read the book, though.

    Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I need to read it, too! After this passage, I can hardly wait.

      Delete
  14. Why thank you. Thank you very much :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I knew you were a fellow connoisseur, Mandi. :)

      Delete
  15. Richard's voice is mine. Ahem.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I read this book, and wasn't a huge fan, but the miniseries is one of my favorite things ever. If he narrated an audiobook of this, I bet I'd even love the book. Oh, swoon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, that's interesting Christina. I have heard people say this is one instance in which the film outshines the book. And given my love for the film, I can kind of believe it. But him narrating the audiobook? Forgetaboutit...

      Delete
  17. For Christmas my sister bought me a Richard Armitage calendar - easily my favourite pressie for this year! Now I can sit here and look at Mr January and listen to this over and over and over. Sounds like a perfect Sunday morning to me!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You have a lovely sister and that is all there is to it. I think I need to see this calendar . . .

      Delete
  18. Anonymous7:10 AM

    Late to the party but just wanted to say that this is awesome! Richard Armitage is love. <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I knew you'd enjoy it, Chach. I don't know how he just goes about daily life speaking everything in THAT VOICE. It is distractingly good.

      Delete
  19. oh. my. goodness. I need to go rewatch that right now *sigh*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's addicting. I could fall asleep to that voice.

      Delete
  20. Any idea where I can get a actual copy of this? The link no longer works.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan