Skip to main content

In Which Richard Armitage Reads North and South


You're welcome.

Comments

  1. Anonymous12:03 PM

    That is one of my favorite scenes from the book (and movie), but to hear him read it? Just, wow!
    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Karen, I know! It struck me speechless.

      Delete
  2. It's like you know just what I want, Angie.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous2:04 PM

    Gosh. This has made my night! Thank you for showcasing this!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love it. I adore the book and the Richard Armitage, er I mean, the TV version with Richard Armitage *cough* ;)

    I wish there was an audio version of the whole book read by him. I could listen to his voice all day...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would buy that audiobook so fast. It seems like a no-brainer to me. I can't believe they haven't done it yet.

      His voice . . .

      Delete
  5. msaggie2:48 PM

    Thanks so much for posting this, Angie. I love North and South very much (probably more than Pride and Prejudice). It's certainly a lot more passionate. If you loved the BBC mini-series, you should read the book itself as it expands on many of the scenes. Elizabeth Gaskell describes so well how those two fell in love. I feel a re-read coming on!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have the book and I'm just sort of saving it for the right time. I know I'll love it.

      Delete
  6. God bless you, Angie. If you need me, I'll be in a puddle on the floor.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh my! Is it hot in here or what??? Love that scene, that reading!!!!! Loved him in The Hobbit also!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does feel a bit close, now that you mention it. It really was the perfect scene to have him read,

      He greatly enhanced The Hobbit for me as well.

      Delete
  8. Replies
    1. It's kind of the epitome of swoon-worthy.

      Delete
  9. When I found this clip on tumblr, my heart did a happy dance but it's even better as a youtube video with that photo montage. *emits a big, happy sigh* His voice is so lovely.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a perfect voice. The man is in possession of the perfect voice.

      Delete
  10. Such a treat, thank-you! This is incredible, that voice is to die for XD

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is incredible. And incredible treat.

      Delete
  11. You just made my evening! Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! I'm delighted to have made your evening.

      Delete
  12. Replies
    1. It's that good. You are welcome!

      Delete
  13. Anonymous10:11 AM

    Ahh! I can't wait to get home so I can listen! Love Richard Armitage! And North and South. I really need to read the book, though.

    Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I need to read it, too! After this passage, I can hardly wait.

      Delete
  14. Why thank you. Thank you very much :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I knew you were a fellow connoisseur, Mandi. :)

      Delete
  15. Richard's voice is mine. Ahem.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I read this book, and wasn't a huge fan, but the miniseries is one of my favorite things ever. If he narrated an audiobook of this, I bet I'd even love the book. Oh, swoon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, that's interesting Christina. I have heard people say this is one instance in which the film outshines the book. And given my love for the film, I can kind of believe it. But him narrating the audiobook? Forgetaboutit...

      Delete
  17. For Christmas my sister bought me a Richard Armitage calendar - easily my favourite pressie for this year! Now I can sit here and look at Mr January and listen to this over and over and over. Sounds like a perfect Sunday morning to me!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You have a lovely sister and that is all there is to it. I think I need to see this calendar . . .

      Delete
  18. Anonymous7:10 AM

    Late to the party but just wanted to say that this is awesome! Richard Armitage is love. <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I knew you'd enjoy it, Chach. I don't know how he just goes about daily life speaking everything in THAT VOICE. It is distractingly good.

      Delete
  19. oh. my. goodness. I need to go rewatch that right now *sigh*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's addicting. I could fall asleep to that voice.

      Delete
  20. Any idea where I can get a actual copy of this? The link no longer works.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's