Skip to main content

Winding Pretties

I love the complimentary and contrasting elements between these two. In fact, I love pretty much everything about both of these covers, from the way the spiral staircase entwines with the scarlet folds of the rose on the one to the colorful spine of a vintage airmail envelope on the other. They make me happy. And very curious.

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
Okay, so this one had me at Beauty & the Beast retelling meets Greek mythology. Yespleasethankyou. Raised to kill her betrothed, Nyx vows to break the curse he laid on her people. Of course, appearances can be deceiving, and . . . well . . . the whole thing looks terribly awesome.
Due out January 28th

That Part Was True by Deborah McKinlay
This one is being compared to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, a book I loved so much I still think about it on a regular basis. Two strangers bond through a shared correspondence and a love of food. They eventually plan to meet up in Paris, but will it happen? And can they possibly each live up to their letters?
Due out February 4th

Comments

  1. OK, Beauty and the Beast, yes done, I want it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I thought as much. I love that you love it the way I do.

      Delete
  2. Anonymous9:44 AM

    Beauty and the Beast retelling? Okay, adding it to the wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Those both sound good!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right? I'm really looking forward to them.

      Delete
  4. Did I hear something about a Guernsey and Literary Potato Peel Society read alike? I'm so there.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That bit caught my attention nicely.

      Delete
  5. Cruel Beauty = gigantic thumbs up. WANT.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Cruel Beauty is a gorgeous cover, but I am amused by the idea of it being "a Greek mythology BatB retelling" since Beauty and the Beast is actually a retelling of the Cupid and Psyche myth. So it comes full circle?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha. I was going to say exactly the same thing. It is a beautiful cover and I will certainly read it as B&B is my favorite fairy tale and Cupid and Psyche my favorite myth-because of their connection.

      Delete
    2. That's SO true. I love both. I love all. All BatB is awesome.

      Delete
    3. I haven't seen any details on how it's all coming together, but it should be interesting.

      Delete
  7. I also am seduced by the color palette of Cruel Beauty's cover.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Seductive is exactly what it is. I love how she looks descending the stairs.

      Delete
  8. This is actually the first that I've heard of Cruel Beauty, though it sounds so good. And that cover. It's beautiful! Thanks for sharing. :)
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous9:31 AM

    You had me at Beauty and the Beast. *adds to TBR* Also IT'S SO PRETTY!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So very pretty. I never met a B&B retelling I didn't want to give a shot.

      Delete
  10. I got a copy of THAT PART WAS TRUE from Book Expo, for pretty much the same reason. I love the epistolary format! I picked it up the same day as DEAR MR KNIGHTLY - another letter-romance, this time influenced by Jane Austen.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Did you?? You'll have to let me know how it is. I'm very curious.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan