Skip to main content

New Adult Pretties

Within the next few months, two writers I adore are coming out with New Adult titles written under their brand spanking new NA pseudonyms. I was kind of charmed at how well these two covers go together, and while I remain two parts skeptical/one part intrigued by the current massive explosion of NA titles, when it's done right, I love it. And so given my stellar track record with these authors, I will definitely be checking them out just as soon as I can.

Deeper by Robin York (aka Ruthie Knox)
So. I give you shady boys who work in bakeries, disillusioned girls who cannot sleep, and the tragic consequences of betrayal in a digital world. As always with Knox, this is gonna be good.
Due out January 28th

One & Only by Viv Daniels (aka Diana Peterfreund)
Here we have secret half-sisters, dastardly businessmen, geeky bespectacled scientists, and a whole lotta angst. Peterfreund was writing top-notch New Adult novels long before it was a thing. I just know this one's going to hit the spot.
Due out November 8th

Comments

  1. Also, I think New Adult has been rather shady up until this point. THIS WILL REDEEM IT.

    ReplyDelete
  2. YES. YES. Both of these have been added to my TBR list for the exact same reason. These authors have proven themselves with their previous work, so I have faith their NA titles will deliver as well.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ah. These authors could make me go for NA.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's precisely it. It's so nice to be able to look forward to them confidently.

      Delete
  4. I am not impressed with new adult in both it's dorky name and current iteration, but I really like Diana Peterfreund, so I'm super-excited about this. Ruthie's recent books have been iffy for me, but I loved her earlier two, so I'll most likely give that one a spin, too.

    Thanks for the heads-up about these two, Angie!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. The last two Camelot novels didn't work that well for me in the end either. But I loved both Camelot novellas featuring Tony & Amber. Have you tried Ruthie's serial novel TRULY, Sarah? I know it's not finished yet, so I can't speak to the ending, BUT. It is so good so far. So good.

      Delete
  5. SO. MUCH. FLAILING. SO. MUCH. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    Also, GEEKY SCIENTIST!!!!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh, hey, look what happened when I wasn't looking! Thanks, Angie. Also: You can read the first two chapters free on Wattpad right now (and there's a new chapter posting every Sunday until the release date). http://www.wattpad.com/story/8639776-one-%26-only

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My pleasure. :)

      I saw it was up on Wattpad! Fun, fun.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan