Skip to main content

Night Broken Cover

Today, Tor.com revealed the cover of the next Mercy Thompson novel, Night Broken. As has become tradition here, I like to post the new cover and dish about it. This is a much-beloved series, and I'm always eager to see how Dan Dos Santos chooses to depict Mercy next. Tor's cover reveal includes some fascinating comments from Dos Santos on his painting process, as well as some awesome preliminary sketches. Apparently the Ace art director and editor weren't too keen on the hooded trench he initially worked up, but I have to say I'm a fan of it. Wish he'd been allowed to keep that element. Even without it, though, this is probably my favorite Mercy cover since Blood Bound. I love her face and hair. And, guys, just look at what she's holding! Can't wait.

Comments

  1. I would have loved to have the trench coat cover! The topless one *blinks* - no, just no.

    So much nicer than the UK covers.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too! I just loved it. Particularly the third b&w sketch on the right. Love it.

      Yeah, I saw the UK covers and wasn't enthused. Not enough personality.

      Delete
  2. I see what you mean about the trench. Between this cover and the synopsis, well, let's just say I'm glad the wait for the book isn't, grand-scheme, all that long.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right? Wish they'd kept it!

      I know. I almost feel as though I'll be able to hold out.

      Delete
  3. I also would have liked the trench coat!!! But yeah, the nudity one--glad that got vetoed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Why didn't they like it?? I don't understand.

      Yes. Um, no to the nudity. LOL.

      Delete
  4. I like the coat! I wouldn't mind if they went a ways away from their traditional look for the Mercy covers, since the character dresses nothing like that! (I mean, the tattoos look cool and all, but Mercy is not a cheesecake pin-up girl.) At least this pose is fierce.

    And I agree with everyone that the nudity cover being vetoed is a very good thing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I wouldn't either. I love his style, but it's definitely removed from Mercy herself. The coat would have been a nice compromise in the right direction. Sigh. But I love her pose, too. Very Mercy.

      Can you imagine the fandom's response if they'd gone with the nude one?! LOL.

      Delete
  5. Love the cover bar one little detail. Hard to miss but what is up with Mercy's breasts. They are gigantic :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was gaping at them yesterday, Adina. They seem to be getting bigger with each cover. It's interesting when you look at his preliminary sketches for this one, they're not nearly as big until the final version. Wonder what prompted that change...

      Delete
  6. AHHHHH!! I just finished Silver Borne in my Mercy reread and AH to this cover and title! I love the hoodie version but this one works for me too. My least favorite cover is Iron Kissed. I cannot wait for this book.

    BTW Angie, do you know if there's going to be an Alpha & Omega book this year? I don't even see a placeholder Untitled listed on goodreads. Was it only a 3 book series?!

    -Maggie

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think my least favorite cover is the one for RIVER MARKED. Mercy in a tube top just doesn't work for me.

      So she doesn't have an Alpha & Omega book under contract right now. She does have one more Mercy under contract and then one more book "in the Mercyverse." Which she says could be an A&O book or could be something else entirely (my money would be on a Sam book or possibly Ben). But she has said Anna & Charles have more stories to be told. So I guess we'll see where the muse takes her. Man, I loved FAIR GAME . . .

      Delete
  7. Ooooo! I love it! I must be living under a rock because this is the first time I've seen the cover OR the title. Yikes.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol. No worries, Christine! We've still got a bit of a wait. But I always look forward to the next Mercy so.

      Delete
  8. That was really interesting. I loved getting a peak at the process. Thanks for sending this along.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. I love that behind the scenes stuff. My pleasure!

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan