Skip to main content

Charming Pretties

Two trusted authors and a debut. Two contemporaries and a fantasy. Two YAs and an adult. However you slice it, these three pretties are utterly charming and I am eager as can be to get my hands on them. 2014, you are looking good, my friend.

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
I'm kind of crushing on this adorable cover and its tagline, "Sometimes love is everything you can't say." Disabled teen Amy has one goal for her senior year of high school: make a single real friend. In Matthew she finds that and more. Touted for fans of Eleanor & Park (which I still have to read), this one has my attention.
Due out June 3rd

It Felt Like a Kiss by Sarra Manning
You all know my feelings on Ms. Manning's Unsticky. Ahem. The unacknowledged daughter of a famous rock star, Ellie's life has been quiet until the paparazzi ferret her out. Amid the chaos enters her father's disturbingly charming (and ruthless) lawyer and, well, I really can't wait.
Due out February 13th (UK)

The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson
I think about Anderson's prose in Tiger Lily. I think about it All. The Time. And I have been rabidly eagerly awaiting her next novel. I was prepared to not even care what it was about. As it happens, it's about friends, ghosts, disappearing girls, and snow. Win/win.
Due out July 1st

Comments

  1. Anonymous9:11 AM

    I want the Sarra Manning and the Jodi Lynn Anderson books! They're so pretty.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So pretty. And they look so good.

      Delete
  2. Oh, this reminds me that I really need to read Anderson. I know I meant to after reading your review of TIGER LILY, but I returned the book to the library unread. Fix that, self!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh. You do. It's so lovely in every sense, in every word.

      Delete
  3. I am so excited for It Felt Like a Kiss. So, so excited.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love the way the three covers look together! They all sound like winners.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too, Lin. It's one of my favorite thing about these posts, arranging complementary covers.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…