Skip to main content

Mortal Heart Cover

I really don't often love photos of actual people on my covers, thank you very much. But I make an exception for Robin LaFevers' His Fair Assassin series, because it was the cover of Grave Mercy that lured me in to begin with. Well, that and the word "assassin" in the series title. And nuns. Assassin nuns. Genius, people. In any event, here is the cover for the third and final (I believe) book in the trilogy—Mortal Heart. It is Annith's story and, really, she deserves one. I have loved each of these covers, but this one might actually be my favorite because bow and arrows. And her dress. I covet it. Cannot wait to read this one. Your thoughts?

Comments

  1. I think Grave Mercy is still my fave cover of the three (because she looks so FIERCE!) but I like this one an awful lot because that is exactly what I envisioned Annith looking like. Bad ass but still kind of wide-eyed and innocent, you know? And I am DYING to find out who her love interest will be! Thanks for sharing, Angie!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She really does. I love Ismae.

      Yep, this is pretty much spot on for how I pictured Annith. And how often does that happen?!

      Delete
    2. Like, hardly EVER.

      Delete
  2. Anonymous11:30 AM

    Woah. The backdrop to this one is just as good as the girl. I am so, so very happy that they made it dark and moody and sinister. I am worried because it's the last book and wrap ups are hard and anxiety and nrrrrrrr... *cries in a corner*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! So great.

      Lol. There, there . . .

      Delete
  3. *HAPPY SHRIEK* poked my head out of the lesson planning cave only to find this awesome gem of news. Holy cow, that cover *o*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. I just keep gazing at it.

      Delete
  4. *SQUEE* GORGEOUS. CAN'T WAIT. (Yes, all caps are deserved here.)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think it's the clouds behind her that I am into.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I dig the clouds. And the abbey. And the green.

      Delete
  6. I love it! I definitely like that it matches the original covers more than the redesign.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Uh, whoa. Yeah, I am not loving that paperback redesign of DARK TRIUMPH.

      Delete
  7. But how are we supposed to wait until November???!!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ugh, I know. Everything is the worst.

      Delete
  8. I just finished Grave Mercy last night, and it was great. I'm excited to read the next two.

    ReplyDelete
  9. It's pretty. And it reminds me that I really have to read Grave Mercy! It was the cover that first lured me to get it (and then, the great reviews).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh. You really do. And then Dark Triumph. And then you'll be all set for this one! :)

      Delete
  10. You said it. Exactly.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous7:22 PM

    This cover looks a bit Robin Hood-ish to me. But then, I do like Robin Hood! Mostly I'm just excited to read the book…really liked the first two a lot!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It totally does. Which probably explains my love for it. I can just tell Annith's story is going to be an exciting one.

      Delete
  12. Alyssa1:22 PM

    The green dress, I KNOW!!! I am partial to Sybella because she is my spirit animal but this whole cover is gorgeous. I can't wait to see what LaFevers does with Annith's story.

    ReplyDelete
  13. AHHHHH!!!! I die! I love this!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan