Skip to main content

Dreamer's Pool Cover

I can't help it. Juliet Marillier has a new book coming out and I start experiencing all the feelings. The fact that this one is the first in a brand new adult fantasy series just ratchets it all up. I've read and enjoyed her YA offerings, but I discovered her through Daughter of the Forest, and so at heart (for me) it will always be about her beautiful adult fantasy novels. I love this cover so because it reminds me of Trina Schart Hyman's work, which I adore. Due out November 4th, Dreamer's Pool is the first in the Blackthorn & Grim series. Set in medieval Ireland, it follows two main characters who Marillier describes as "older, more flawed protagonists." Good heavens, bring it to me now.

Comments

  1. That cover is gorgeous! I seem to have a soft spot for flowing tendrils of hair and this has that.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lol. I have the same weakness. And this one just seems to fit her style of story so well.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Cannot. Wait.


    Such a beautiful cover! I wonder who the cover artist is.

    ReplyDelete
  4. What's this?! I had no clue. Thank you for pulling me out of that not-knowing state. (But now the agony of waiting.)

    ReplyDelete
  5. i can't wait for this one. Cannot. Wait.

    ReplyDelete
  6. So do I! I'd love to see more of her/his work.

    ReplyDelete
  7. You're welcome. And I'm sorry. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Me, too! Back to Ireland but wholly unrelated to her other series. I love the sound of these two characters.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I think I might want to live inside that cover because . . . wow.


    How long of a paper chain do I have to make for November?

    ReplyDelete
  10. Right? Lol. Let's string one up at work!

    ReplyDelete
  11. It comes out on the same day as the new Sharon Shinn book (the third of that shapeshifter series). Too much goodness in one day!! Let's hope nothing stressful will happen during that week.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Ahh. Those two have been on the same release cycle for some time now and it is like all the presents wrapped into one heady day. Cannot wait.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I haven't read that yet! Let me know what you think of it.


    I have a good feeling about this one. I just do.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan