Skip to main content

Dreamer's Pool Cover

I can't help it. Juliet Marillier has a new book coming out and I start experiencing all the feelings. The fact that this one is the first in a brand new adult fantasy series just ratchets it all up. I've read and enjoyed her YA offerings, but I discovered her through Daughter of the Forest, and so at heart (for me) it will always be about her beautiful adult fantasy novels. I love this cover so because it reminds me of Trina Schart Hyman's work, which I adore. Due out November 4th, Dreamer's Pool is the first in the Blackthorn & Grim series. Set in medieval Ireland, it follows two main characters who Marillier describes as "older, more flawed protagonists." Good heavens, bring it to me now.

Comments

  1. That cover is gorgeous! I seem to have a soft spot for flowing tendrils of hair and this has that.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lol. I have the same weakness. And this one just seems to fit her style of story so well.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Cannot. Wait.


    Such a beautiful cover! I wonder who the cover artist is.

    ReplyDelete
  4. What's this?! I had no clue. Thank you for pulling me out of that not-knowing state. (But now the agony of waiting.)

    ReplyDelete
  5. i can't wait for this one. Cannot. Wait.

    ReplyDelete
  6. So do I! I'd love to see more of her/his work.

    ReplyDelete
  7. You're welcome. And I'm sorry. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Me, too! Back to Ireland but wholly unrelated to her other series. I love the sound of these two characters.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I think I might want to live inside that cover because . . . wow.


    How long of a paper chain do I have to make for November?

    ReplyDelete
  10. Right? Lol. Let's string one up at work!

    ReplyDelete
  11. It comes out on the same day as the new Sharon Shinn book (the third of that shapeshifter series). Too much goodness in one day!! Let's hope nothing stressful will happen during that week.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Ahh. Those two have been on the same release cycle for some time now and it is like all the presents wrapped into one heady day. Cannot wait.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I haven't read that yet! Let me know what you think of it.


    I have a good feeling about this one. I just do.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's