Skip to main content

Tillerman Pretties


A couple of years ago, Atheneum Books put out these new editions of Cynthia Voigt's incomparable Tillerman Cycle and I swooned. I've never been over the moon for the past covers of these books, and my own set is a somewhat mismatched (but much beread and beloved) collection of mass market paperbacks. But this time—oh, this time they got it right. Something about these simple, slightly dreamy illustrations perfectly fits these stories of one family's struggle to survive and stay together. I require them.

As I never tire of talking about this series, have you read them? Which is your favorite? I waffle (don't I always?) between Dicey's Song, A Solitary Blue, and Seventeen Against the Dealer. Yeah. Yeah.

Comments

  1. Sigh. I know. I mean, JEFF.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've read them all, and when Rainbow Rowell mentioned Dicey Tillerman in Eleanor & Park, I'm pretty sure I fist-pumped. They're all so wonderful, I'll always be especially fond of Dicey's Song, A Solitary Blue, and Seventeen Against the Dealer-- can you believe how much the siblings grew up?? <3

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wasn't that the most awesome moment ever!? I still smile when I think of Eleanor thinking of Dicey. :)


    Those are my three faves as well. I thought it was such a fitting conclusion to the series.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Solitary Blue. That book just KILLS.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yes. It is the definition of quietly beautiful.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan