Skip to main content

Cloaked Pretties

Next May is going to be a doozy! I am so looking forward to both of these novels by authors I've read and loved. Both retellings, they feature not only girls in red cloaks (FTW) but spirally, scrolly, medievally goodness. And, as such, I say next spring can't come fast enough (not really—I'm barely okay with it being fall now!) But book release schedule-wise, Yay for May!

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
This time Ms. Hodge turns her hand to retelling Little Red Riding Hood. Though it looks to be similar in tone, it is not set in the same world as Cruel Beauty. In an attempt to make up for the mistake she made as a girl, Rachelle fights evil on behalf of her realm, only to be ordered by the king to guard the man she hates. I really don't feel like anything else is required here, do you? Cannot. Wait.
Due out May 5th

Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen
As if being imprisoned by the truly dastardly Prince John wasn't enough, Scarlet finds herself embroiled in a plot to save King Richard's life. But her heart is far away, at home in Nottinghamshire. I have loved both previous installments in this trilogy, and I have implicit faith in Gaughen's ability to bring it to a perfect close with this final volume.
Due out May 19th

Comments

  1. I am beyond excited for Crimson Bound, and yes, that is a perfect stopping point for a description of what it is about.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really can't wait for both of these!! Especially Lion Heart, I love the Scarlet series. And I love how Crimson Bound matches Cruel Beauty's cover so nicely even though they aren't sequels. Retellings are the best and it sounds pretty amazing. Also OMG that North and South picture on the right sidebar! Ahhhhhhh!!!! The best part of the whole series <3

    ReplyDelete
  3. It's such a good series. I'm extremely curious to see how she rounds it out. Please less pain than in LADY THIEF!!


    Ah, yes. The North & South picture. I can't help myself.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan