Skip to main content

Cloaked Pretties

Next May is going to be a doozy! I am so looking forward to both of these novels by authors I've read and loved. Both retellings, they feature not only girls in red cloaks (FTW) but spirally, scrolly, medievally goodness. And, as such, I say next spring can't come fast enough (not really—I'm barely okay with it being fall now!) But book release schedule-wise, Yay for May!

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
This time Ms. Hodge turns her hand to retelling Little Red Riding Hood. Though it looks to be similar in tone, it is not set in the same world as Cruel Beauty. In an attempt to make up for the mistake she made as a girl, Rachelle fights evil on behalf of her realm, only to be ordered by the king to guard the man she hates. I really don't feel like anything else is required here, do you? Cannot. Wait.
Due out May 5th

Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen
As if being imprisoned by the truly dastardly Prince John wasn't enough, Scarlet finds herself embroiled in a plot to save King Richard's life. But her heart is far away, at home in Nottinghamshire. I have loved both previous installments in this trilogy, and I have implicit faith in Gaughen's ability to bring it to a perfect close with this final volume.
Due out May 19th

Comments

  1. I am beyond excited for Crimson Bound, and yes, that is a perfect stopping point for a description of what it is about.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really can't wait for both of these!! Especially Lion Heart, I love the Scarlet series. And I love how Crimson Bound matches Cruel Beauty's cover so nicely even though they aren't sequels. Retellings are the best and it sounds pretty amazing. Also OMG that North and South picture on the right sidebar! Ahhhhhhh!!!! The best part of the whole series <3

    ReplyDelete
  3. It's such a good series. I'm extremely curious to see how she rounds it out. Please less pain than in LADY THIEF!!


    Ah, yes. The North & South picture. I can't help myself.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …