Skip to main content

Carry On, I'll Just Be Over Here Trying Not to Freak Right Out


So you heard, right? You heard Rainbow Rowell is actually writing a Simon Snow book?! Guys, it's like I woke up and Christmas came early. It's like I'm the Grinch and my heart just grew three sizes this day. She announced it via Twitter last night. And it is Simon & Baz's story. And it is due out next October. And it is her first fantasy. And there was this (along with a summary) on her tumblr:
Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.
Take my money, Ms. Rowell.

Comments

  1. I can't even. This makes me so happy! I was talking to a friend the other day who said she loved Fangirl but skipped all the Simon and Baz parts, and I was like, " . . . *blink* . . . *blink* . . . "

    ReplyDelete
  2. I know! I talked to a few who said the same and I'm just . . . unresponsive. I'm sorry, did you not read Simon & Baz's scenes together?!

    ReplyDelete
  3. OMG. Really???!!! This is amazing news, I loved Simon and Baz!


    Right - one more year...

    ReplyDelete
  4. YES!! So did I. I'm just sort of giddy that this is her next book.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is such amazing news! I LOVED the Simon and Baz scenes. They are so deserving if their own book!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I wonder if she'll include some of the scenes already in Fangirl.

    ReplyDelete
  7. See? Yes. They deserve them. I can't wait to read their story.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This is what I keep asking myself! A couple of those . . . yeah. I really hope she does.

    ReplyDelete
  9. DUDE I CANNOT WAIT. I am hoping Baz and Simon become a thing THEY NEED TO BE A THING.


    Rainbow Rowell can have my money. I don't mind when she writes such awesome books. I *still* pick up Fangirl and Attachments from time to time :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. It's SO for real. I can't stop grinning like a fool.

    ReplyDelete
  11. CANNOT. WAIT. She said it's a love story. They have to be a thing!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…