Skip to main content

All New (to Me) Pretties

The first pretties post of the year! And really, these three definitely live up to the name. They are also new to me. I've never read anything by any of these authors, which thought fills me with hope. Have you? If so, do tell me about their words and how they use them.

Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat
A young pianist whose family's reduced circumstances force a move to the wrong side of town decides to try to hide the truth from her new associates (including the boy at school and the boy next door). I think we can all guess how well that goes. That cover, though. Also pianist.
Due out June 16th

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
Schizophrenic protagonist who is dead set on surviving her illness and making it to college with the help of her little sister, her camera, and a Magic 8 ball. Also, possibly (hopefully), a boy named Miles. I love everything about that cover and setup.
Due out May 19th

The Improbable Theory of Ana & Zak by Brian Katcher
Two teens encounter each other and some seriously good cosplay at a scifi convention. Geek antics ensue. I'm actually surprised this story hasn't been written before (or at least come across my radar if it has). And, somewhat ubiquitous title aside (also, is it just me or is Zak being used everywhere lately?), I'm all in.
Due out May 19th

Comments

  1. When you say that "this story hasn't been written before... are you implying that you are unfamiliar with the anthology "Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd"? Among other things, it covers cosplay at a scifi convention. It's a YA anthology, and it's awesome. As you'd expect, some of the stories are "meh", but some of them are fantastic (including some that will make the romance reader in you quite happy). So much fun!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lol. Something along those lines, yes. Geektastic crossed my radar a few years ago when it came out, I think, but I was thinking along the lines of a full-length novel. You've caught my attention, though. Which stories are your favorite in it? And I would def love one with a good romance. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh, Geektastic is so good. I'm not sure this means much since I push books on people all the time, but I'm also miserly and I've actually paid real money to buy this one for people (specifically for two new moms since short stories are perfect for reading while nursing, in my opinion)

    Here are a few highlights, mostly highlights because there's a satisfying romantic thread (which I'm defining here as a seemingly requited spark, *maybe* as much as a kiss, but generally that's as far as it gets):

    1. Once You’re a Jedi, You’re a Jedi All The Way: Jedi cosplayer wakes up in bed with Klingon cosplayer. They're like the Jets and the Sharks- clearly they're duty-bound to hate each other... right?

    2. One of Us: Cheerleader hires a group of friends to educate her on nerd culture since her football player boyfriend dabbles in it. She doesn't become a total convert, but she learns to appreciate some of it, and gains some new friends in the process. I want someone to write me a fanfic epilogue to this story. I loved it. I also appreciated the fact that the cheerleader is never vilified- she gets to be pretty and popular and assertive and still a generally good person. (Also, of the three nerd guys who are tutoring her, two are awesome and totally respectful and one edges up to creepy and she totally calls him out on it, which I liked).

    3. The Stars at the Finish Line: They've known each other forever. She thinks they've been in competition the whole time and that there has to be a winner and a loser. But if she takes the time to get to know him, she might find out that's not the case at all... (This story is adorable, and I loved the guy's sweetness and the girl's ambition).



    4. Quiet Night: Beta hero :)


    In terms of a longer story, have you ever heard of One Con Glory by Sarah Kuhn? It's not perfect- in that it felt a little clunky, for lack of a better word- but it's a longer story set at a comic con and it has a romance at the center of it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've never heard of these authors either. But I'd like to read The Improbable Theory of Ana & Zak. Ubiquitous is right! I'm reminded of The Statistical Improbability of Love at First Sight.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yep. All those similar titles. At first it sounds clever and then it's just enough already. That said, Ana & Zak looks really good and I'm excited!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is exactly what I needed to know! Sounds so good. I'll track it down for sure.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ooo! I love the covers and their contents. And best of all, their release dates aren't that far away!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I know, the not far off release dates are a relief.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oooh~ these all look awesome & I'd never seen any of them around before. My two fave covers are Between the Notes and Made You Up. Both are really mesmerising and works of art x Nomes

    ReplyDelete
  10. Same. Those two covers . . . just draw me right in.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan