Skip to main content

Choose Your Own Edition: The Ruby in the Smoke

This Choose Your Own Edition comes to you via my thus far failed attempts to foist a copy of The Ruby in the Smoke off on my friend Beth. The Sally Lockhart series is my favorite of Pullman's work, and I am just so eager for her to read that first incomparable line. My own copy is currently on loan in a different city and won't be returning soon. I did run across an older library copy for sale with a somewhat dismaying pale blue 90s cover and naturally turned my nose up at it (I did go back later but it was gone, naturally). Full disclosure: I am such a snob sometimes about the cover that accompanies someone's first impression of a book I love. Honestly, someone needs to beat it out of me. It's the reason I own three editions of Sunshine and yet only ever loan out one (my favorite first edition), so that new readers come into the experience with the right (IMHO) packaging. SIGH


In any event, with no copies ready to hand, I've been browsing editions online and require your input. I actually like all three of these, though I am drooling rather most over that one on the left—a gorgeous new UK 30th anniversary edition. They've done the whole series, of course, and I . . . well, I need them all. My own copies are beloved and mismatched and the only cover of mine I really love is the first one. Because the Sally on it is Sally. And because it's smoky and threatening and atmospheric in just the right way. But I do like the sort of Dickensian Scholastic cover in the middle above (out of print, but fairly cheaply available), as well as the font and the red framing of the one on the right. And so. Which one would you gift had you the spare cash and the inclination?

Comments

  1. I really like the middle one - it has a kind of steampunk feel to it which would make me want to read it IMMEDIATELY.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey Melle! Unfortunately, it is only available in the UK. But! You can order it with free worldwide shipping from The Book Depository. Here's the link: http://www.bookdepository.com/Ruby-Smoke-Philip-Pullman/9781407154190.

    ReplyDelete
  3. It does, doesn't it?

    ReplyDelete
  4. The 30th anniversary cover is just lovely. Sadly, my own copies of the series are all mismatched and ugly but I do know the cover you speak of and it was the best. That's the copy my library had and I borrowed it so often it should have just been mine. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. The best! I'm so glad someone else read and loved that edition, too.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh goodness, I can see why you're having a difficult time deciding!

    The middle cover has a sort of classic feel to it, but I love the black and pink contrast on the first.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Yeah. Yeah . . . so pretty.

    ReplyDelete
  8. The contrast is so great, particularly as it captures a bit of the darkness that really makes up a huge quantity of this book and series.

    ReplyDelete
  9. wow ~ this is really tough! I struggle with the same burden! I am desperately trying to overcome it (just today I bought a Juliet Marillier book I have been wanting to own, but havent bought so far bc I just can't decided which edition to go for. I saw it for $1 at the op shop yesterday, didnt get it (as all undecided about collecting the large PB version), then went back today and bought it (luckily it was still there). I don't know why I agonise so! Amyway, it's a pretty enough edition but now I feel like I have committed to getting the whole series in the same matching large PB...


    I like the first two. I would love to see the inside typography and design to get a real feel for them before deciding (not that you can do that online...)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love that 30th edition cover. It is incredibly striking.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Not just me then! Phew. Well, the matching thing is a serious issue. It does bother me when my copies switch editions mid-series. I'm still pining over the Australian edition of Marillier's The Dark Mirror. I have the second two books in the series in the Aussie versions and they're so much lovelier than the US ones.


    Being able to peek inside these would totally help me decide! If only.

    ReplyDelete
  12. It really is. And put it together with the other two in the series in the same editions and they're just perfect.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Absolutely my favorite Pullman books, and some of my most beloved child books. Unfortunately, I think mine have the light blue 90s cover you described... well all except the last one which is mismatched and drives me crazy. I like all three of these covers better than mine, but particularly that first one. It might be time for Sally to get an upgrade in my library!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I love that 30th edition cover. It is incredibly striking.
    Nạp Tiền ViettelThẻ Điện Thoại với các loại Mua Card Online

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan