Skip to main content

A Touch of Red Pretties


It's February and the color red is everywhere, in windows, on cookies, and threading through the most lovely of upcoming book covers. These three. They are so beautiful, they would grace any shelf. Two of these authors are new to me, and I'm really looking forward to getting to know their work.

The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore
This one sounds almost like a magical realism take on Romeo & Juliet, and I am down with that, people. The two families are the Palomas and the Corbeaus. They operate rival traveling performance troupes. There's a touch of black magic. Then a Corbeau boy saves a Paloma girl's life, and well . . .
Due out September 15th

Sword by Amy Bai
Thanks to Li for the heads up on this one! Kyali is the only sword-wielding girl in the realm. Charged with the care of the heir to the throne, her life falls apart when the ancient nursery rhymes of her people begin to manifest themselves in reality. It sounds all epic and doomed and whatnot. That cover though.
Due out today!

Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead
I really cannot stress to you enough how perfect a book Stead's When You Reach Me is. I read it last year and have yet to review it because feelings. But. This new one looks fabulous. Three girls. Best friends. Seventh grade. Valentine's Day is involved. Ugh. Already I have shivers.
Due out August 4th

Comments

  1. That SWORD cover is fantastic, isn't it? Fingers crossed the inside lives up to the outside...

    The Rebecca Stead sounds really good. I'll have to look up her previous books - WHEN YOU REACH ME, huh?

    ReplyDelete
  2. I know. Fingers definitely crossed.


    And, yes. WHEN YOU REACH ME. So, so lovely.

    ReplyDelete
  3. wow. you always present the most eye-catching and amazing covers. these all work for me. I definitely appreciate covers that dont just come from a stock image but have been crafted and illustrated/created to tell that books story.

    I am also reminded to prioritise getting to When you Reach Mr this year :) x Nomes

    ReplyDelete
  4. So do I! The stock images are exhausting sometimes.


    Yes! You must. It is wonderful.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for sharing ! Your ariticle very useful , i will bookmark it : Tai game Farmery - tai game online - tai lol truyen ky

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan