Skip to main content

Eye-catching Pretties


Three new-to-me authors, three eye-catching pretties, three upcoming contemporaries full of potential. Looks like these three run the gamut from a used bookstore to a London television set to a 90s rock band. I will have no problem making those stops. As always, fingers crossed.

This Book Will Change Your Life by Amanda Weaver
I feel like the font choice could have been more inspired here, but I will never not pick up a book with a couple kissing in a library. Never. And so. We have Hannah who is struggling with her college choices. And we have Ben who works in a used bookstore and is feeling trapped within familial expectations. I approve of this message.
Due out September 28th

Undeniable by Liz Bankes
I believe this one was published previously in the UK, but with a far inferior (or at least less cute) cover. I'm fond of this black and white and pink cover with the ascending hearts. Undeniable is being recced for fans of Stephanie Perkins and features a girl named Gabi who flees heartache, lands an internship with a TV show in London, and falls for a cute extra. Unsurprisingly, drama ensues.
Due out November 24th

Loud is How I Love You by Mercy Brown
And now we have my favorite title of the lot, no contest. The cover's no hardship to look at either. This is Ms. Brown's debut novel about 90s indie rock frontgirl Emmylou who makes the mistake of falling for her guitarist. Fame, of course, threatens it all. It sounds as though the author's own experiences informed the story. To which I say, excellent.
Due out January 19th

Comments

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…