Skip to main content

Typographical Pretties


First pretties post of the year is here! And just look at these elegant covers. I can hardly wait to get my hands on them. These three hail from two debut authors and one who is on her third novel, and I just have to hand it to their cover designers. That seal on The Queen's Gambit . . . that dripping ink on Traitor Angels . . . the stuff authorial dreams are made of, I'd wager.

The Queen's Gambit by Beth Brower
A young queen determined to protect her homeland. A mysterious traveler with a violent past. They strike an uneasy bargain, but at what cost to them both? I'm just going to go ahead and say that Beth is my dear friend (of the library painting fame) and that I had the opportunity to read a draft of this novel and that you do not want to miss it.
Due out January 19th

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill
Britta Flannery is a wanted woman. In exchange for her freedom after being caught poaching, she is to hunt down her father's killer. Of course, there are complications. A bit of a gender-swapped fantasy Robin Hood, this one sounds. Color me intrigued.
Due out December 27th

Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman
Okay, John Milton training his daughter to sword fight by night even as she helps translate Paradise Lost by day? A secret code hidden in the poem? A dark Italian scientist? And it's a standalone? Take my money.
Due out May 3rd

Comments

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's