Skip to main content

Typographical Pretties


First pretties post of the year is here! And just look at these elegant covers. I can hardly wait to get my hands on them. These three hail from two debut authors and one who is on her third novel, and I just have to hand it to their cover designers. That seal on The Queen's Gambit . . . that dripping ink on Traitor Angels . . . the stuff authorial dreams are made of, I'd wager.

The Queen's Gambit by Beth Brower
A young queen determined to protect her homeland. A mysterious traveler with a violent past. They strike an uneasy bargain, but at what cost to them both? I'm just going to go ahead and say that Beth is my dear friend (of the library painting fame) and that I had the opportunity to read a draft of this novel and that you do not want to miss it.
Due out January 19th

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill
Britta Flannery is a wanted woman. In exchange for her freedom after being caught poaching, she is to hunt down her father's killer. Of course, there are complications. A bit of a gender-swapped fantasy Robin Hood, this one sounds. Color me intrigued.
Due out December 27th

Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman
Okay, John Milton training his daughter to sword fight by night even as she helps translate Paradise Lost by day? A secret code hidden in the poem? A dark Italian scientist? And it's a standalone? Take my money.
Due out May 3rd

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan