Skip to main content

Veronica Speedwell Pretties


I'm sorry, but these brand spanking new Veronica Speedwell covers are divine, and that's all there is to it. I mean, the hardback cover of A Curious Beginning wasn't too shabby at all (the dress . . . the fog . . . ), but these ones have my heart. The silhouettes. The butterflies. The font. The problem, of course, is an old one and one that has plagued dedicated book collectors like myself for what seems like time immemorial. This new A Curious Beginning cover belongs to the paperback edition (due out July 12), while the matching cover for A Perilous Undertaking (the second book in the series) will be hardcover (due out September or thereabouts). Naturally, I own the hardcover copy of the first book. Sigh.

Why? Why must my series be unmatched? All covers are not created equal, and I want these two gorgeous matched pretties on my shelf. Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of lender copies, and my husband will assure you I have zero problem throwing down for a second copy of a book I love. It just makes me feel safe, you know? But that doesn't mean I don't reserve the right to grouse when a publisher changes the game on me mid-series. Even when it's in the most delightful of directions. Ah, well. Minor grouchiness aside, I simply cannot wait to get my hands on these beauties. Have you read the first book? I confess, I'm going to be rather excited to be reunited with Veronica and Stoker.

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan