Skip to main content

White, Bright Pretties


Just in time for summer, these bright, white and colorful pretties are calling my name. I've read and loved books by two of these three authors. The other is new to me. I just want to hold them in my hands and devour their words as I'm lounging next to the pool or out for an evening drive with Aaron on one of these perfect summer nights.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
I truly enjoyed Ms. Yoon's debut novel Everything, Everything, and I'm utterly delighted we'll be getting another novel from her this year. When it comes to YA romance, she has such a lovely touch. This new novel features a young woman who is a scientist and whose family is on the verge of being deported. It also features a young man who . . . well, you can guess. I can't wait.
Due out November 1st

A Song to Take the World Apart by Zan Romanoff
A debut novel with one of the best titles I've heard in a long while. This is being recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson's I'll Give You the Sun, of which I am a huge fan. There are mentions of magical realism, along with a boy in a band and a girl who has never been allowed to sing. Her name is Lorelei. I think I can see where this is going, and I think I like it.
Due out September 13th

White-Hot Hack by Tracey Garvis Graves
This is the sequel to the delightful and heartfelt Heart-Shaped Hack, which I read and loved last year. Kate and Ian are back and dealing with the fallout of the sudden end of Ian's career as an undercover hacker. So more banter, more intrigue, more breakkneck action. Sign me up.
Due out June 7th

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan