Skip to main content

Foreign Edition Pretties


Today's pretties post comes to you courtesy of three foreign editions I've been lusting over. But seriously, why can these not be available in my country. Or, you know, my language? And, yes, I'm aware of what a first world problem I'm dealing with here. Not enough pretty editions at your beck and call, Ms. Thompson? I do know. But the book collector in me just started vibrating with longing when I ran across these lovely editions.

You've all seen my battered and beloved copy of Daughter of the Forest. I feel like you feel me when I see this completely different and beautiful monochromatic UK version and know that it has to be mine. I always need a lender copy! Particularly as my original hardback is no longer capable of limping out the door, what with the loose pages and the limp tape some obliging borrower stuck in for good measure.

As for the Italian edition of Cath Crowley's Graffiti Moon, all I can say is this is the cover I'd been waiting for. I never much fell in love with either the Australian or the U.S. editions. They were fine. Serviceable. But they didn't quite catch up to the loveliness that is that special novel. This cover on the other hand? This one does Shadow and Poet and Lucy and Ed and Leo the justice they deserve. Sigh.

When it comes to Six of Crows, I have no compunction whatsoever at buying a lender copy (at present, I only own one copy of the book—behold, the restraint). And this French edition is just it. Such great renderings of all six of them! I mean, Kaz looks a bit like an undead serial killer. But Nina? Jesper? Matthias' handcuffs? Wylan's rose? So, so good.

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan