Skip to main content

Thick as Thieves + New Queen's Thief Covers


I'm sure by now you've heard the amazing news that we have not only a release date, but a title and cover as well for the incomparable Megan Whalen Turner's fifth Queen's Thief book—Thick as Thieves. It's due out in hardcover May 16th of next year. So definitely what feels like a ways off yet, but it's been six years, people. This is huge progress from where we fans have been. And, if you trot on over to the description on Goodreads, you'll note that our new POV character is none other than Kamet (!), which thing filleth me with joy. I can say that having worked through my initial emotions at coming to The King of Attolia and finding out the narrator was some unknown by the name of Costis and, of course, subsequently recognizing the error of my ways. Costis, I love you! Kamet, I am  one hundred percent ready for your adventure!

So. As for my feelings. We're back to a version of the word thief in the title, and I really love that. And they've finally branded the series officially as the "Queen's Thief" series, which has always been the perfect title and is therefore very gratifying. There will also be, yes, a map! More than one, I believe. As well as extras, including short stories and cast lists. For more, check out the Publisher's Weekly interview with Ms. Turner about the new book here


As you can see, they've also given the entire series cover redesigns (in paperback, of course) to be released February 28th. And here's where my emotions get a bit sticky. And it's no fault of the publisher's. Longtime readers (and confirmed book collectors) will persist in getting attached to certain covers and cover artists, won't we? We will always want our sets to match. Or at least have matching be within the realm of possibility when our bank accounts allow such indulgences. To be fair, this move is standard operating procedure in publishing. There's been a gap of a number of years between books, enough that the old covers probably don't feel as fresh as they once did. Enough that it would be excellent to reach a wider, newer audience with updated, possibly more broadly appealing covers. And, hey, it would be superb to potentially reach a somewhat older young adult audience as well, particularly given the sophistication and beautiful complexity that characterizes this astounding series. 

I get it. I really do. It's just also true that my heart broke a little that we wouldn't be getting the final two books wrapped up in Vince Natale's perfect, perfect covers. And that this was such a radical shift from those. I'm still getting used to them, of course. So far, the cover for the new one is my favorite. But it's my misfortune to believe that the Vince Natale cover of The King of Attolia is quite possibly the best book cover to have ever graced a book in the history of books. I mean, the original covers of The Scorpio Races and Sunshine are right up there with it. Do not get me wrong. But that cover? With that Gen who is so precisely my Gen? With Attolia's hand? The rings, the sword, the cloak? Well, as I said. Too attached for my own good. For the record, Aaron took one look at the new covers and loved them. Our personal experiences with novels certainly inform our cover emotions/desires/hopes/fears. Ahem.

All of this said, I require your thoughts on the matter. Please share (and celebrate) with me. 

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan