Skip to main content

Black & Gold Pretties


It has been far too long since I pulled together a Pretties post. Far too long. I continue to meticulously monitor my ongoing list of upcoming books, never fear. I just haven't been actively talking about them as much lately. But. These three. These three finally all have covers and are out there on the not-too-distant/somewhat distant horizon. Moreover, they absolutely merit some chatter.

The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli
Okay, look. This debut is being touted as "perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Sarah J. Maas" . . . soooooo . . . basically . . . I VOLUNTEER AS TRIBUTE. This is also within reach as it is due out in just over a month. I am so very excited. She's a dragon-slayer, guys. My Aerin Dragon-Killer loving heart is beating overtime.
Due out October 3rd

Circe by Madeline Miller
I feel certain you all remember my exquisite meltdown over the beautifulness that is The Song of Achilles. Well, she finally has another book coming out and it is CIRCE'S story, guys. It is the story of this halfling daughter, from her days in her father's hall to her banishment and transformation on her magical island. Yes, please. Yes, please, and thank you.
Due out April 10th

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
I am having the hardest time waiting for this one. I've adored Holly Black's faerie books for awhile now. No one does flawed, dark, romantic, high faerie beauty the way she does. This is the first in her new Folk of the Air trilogy. I hear it has a connection to her other faerie books. I hear it has a Hades/Persephone vibe going on. Music to my ears.
Due out January 2nd

Comments

You Might Also Like

Interview with Alexandra Bracken + Brightly Woven Giveaway!

I fell in love with the cover of Alexandra Bracken's debut novel--Brightly Woven--last fall and the scant synopses I could find at the time certainly piqued my interest. After managing to get my hands on an ARC, I found myself surprised and pleased with this unique fantasy. You can read my review here. As the release date approached, I invited Alex to participate in an interview and giveaway here on the site and, despite her crazy busy schedule, she kindly accepted. Enjoy! First things first: When did the idea for Brightly Wovenfirst hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? I remember the exact moment it hit me—what I was doing, who I was talking to, what song was playing on iTunes.  :)  I had just come back from Winter Break my sophomore year in college and was sitting on my bed chatting with my mom.  Sophomore year was pretty remarkable in terms of the insane weather that we had in Virginia (where I was in school) but it had also been a bizarre year in Arizon…

Blog Tour Giveaway | An Artless Demise by Anna Lee Huber

Today marks the release of An Artless Demise―the seventh installment in Anna Lee Huber's excellent Lady Darby mystery series. I'm happy to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. This is a series I've enjoyed from the very beginning (you can read my review of the first book here). Be sure that Kiera and Gage are well worth your time, particularly if you are a fan of Deanna Raybourn or Tasha Alexander.

ABOUT THE BOOK Kiera’s return to London is anything but mundane after fleeing in infamy more than two years ago. While Kiera expected the whispers and murmurs inspired by her reappearance, she wasn’t prepared to receive a letter of blackmail, threatening to divulge the secrets of her past and implicating her in crimes she didn’t commit. A gang of body snatchers is arrested on suspicion of killing people from the streets and selling the bodies to medical schools, and Kiera is a perfect suspect for their crimes―after all, she was previously married…

E-book Alert | Life Without Friends by Ellen Emerson White

I have been waiting for this day for what feels like forever. If you've followed this blog for basically any length of time, you have heard me singing the praises of Ellen Emerson White. I am a devoted fan of her spectacular President's Daughter and Echo Company series. And you should read and own them and spread the good word immediately. But Life Without Friends. This book was the beginning for me. Beverly and Derek and Boston and the Public Gardens. From my review:
This book kind of ate me alive at fourteen, and I have reread it pretty much every year since. It has become what you might call a Monster Comfort Read. I have been buying up used copies of this previously out-of-print book for years now and sending them to readers I knew needed them. I am so delighted to let you know it's now available on Kindle for just $2.99 or free with Kindle Unlimited. And I really love the new Kindle cover (above left), while I will always be inordinately attached to the original cove…