Skip to main content

Black & Gold Pretties


It has been far too long since I pulled together a Pretties post. Far too long. I continue to meticulously monitor my ongoing list of upcoming books, never fear. I just haven't been actively talking about them as much lately. But. These three. These three finally all have covers and are out there on the not-too-distant/somewhat distant horizon. Moreover, they absolutely merit some chatter.

The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli
Okay, look. This debut is being touted as "perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Sarah J. Maas" . . . soooooo . . . basically . . . I VOLUNTEER AS TRIBUTE. This is also within reach as it is due out in just over a month. I am so very excited. She's a dragon-slayer, guys. My Aerin Dragon-Killer loving heart is beating overtime.
Due out October 3rd

Circe by Madeline Miller
I feel certain you all remember my exquisite meltdown over the beautifulness that is The Song of Achilles. Well, she finally has another book coming out and it is CIRCE'S story, guys. It is the story of this halfling daughter, from her days in her father's hall to her banishment and transformation on her magical island. Yes, please. Yes, please, and thank you.
Due out April 10th

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
I am having the hardest time waiting for this one. I've adored Holly Black's faerie books for awhile now. No one does flawed, dark, romantic, high faerie beauty the way she does. This is the first in her new Folk of the Air trilogy. I hear it has a connection to her other faerie books. I hear it has a Hades/Persephone vibe going on. Music to my ears.
Due out January 2nd

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's Best Books of 2022

  Somehow the end of the year is here. And we're all here. And I still feel like placing this post in this space. So I shall. With gratitude and a certain wistful hope. For us all. But especially for these books, the people that walk them, their words, and their creators. (listed in the order in which I read them) Hook, Line, and Sinker by Tessa Bailey The Perfect Crimes of Marian Hayes by Cat Sebastian You Were Made to Be Mine by Julie Anne Long Impossible by Sarah Lotz Book Lovers by Emily Henry Nettle & Bone by T. Kingfisher The Bodyguard by Katherine Center The Worst Guy by Kate Canterbary Fire Season by K.D. Casey Husband Material by Alexis Hall Love in the Time of Serial Killers by Alicia Thompson Heartbreaker by Sarah MacLean Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood Lore Olympus, Vol. 3 by Rachel Smythe Greywaren by Maggie Stiefvater The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion, Vol. 6 by Beth Brower Daniel Cabot Puts Down Roots by Cat Sebastian Scattered Showers

Angie's 2023 Must Be Mine

  Begin as you mean to go on, they say. And so here are my most anticipated titles of 2023: And no covers on these yet, but I'm looking forward to them every bit as much: The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion, Vol. 7 by Beth Brower Knockout by Sarah MacLean Ten Things That Never Happened by Alexis Hall Thornhedge by T. Kingfisher We Could Be So Good by Cat Sebastian Diamond Ring by K.D. Casey The Gentleman's Gambit by Evie Dunmore What titles are on your list?

The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber

This book has made the rounds and no mistake. I started seeing early reviews awhile back and read a few delightful interviews with Leanna Renee Hieber and found myself intrigued to read her first novel-- The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker . I was, therefore, tickled to receive a copy for review from Ms. Hieber and quickly set about settling in. I knew it was a Gothic paranormal mystery of sorts, featuring (among other things) a group of loyal comrades, a private London academy, a bit of magic, an albino, and a swoon-worthy broody professor a la Richard Armitage in North & South . *moment of silence for the awesomeness of The Armitage* And that was the extent of my pre-reading knowledge. That and the fact that I loved the cover with its simple yet moody, midnight blue and its slightly off-kilter, scripty title. Miss Percy Parker is about to embark on an adventure, albeit a much larger one than she imagines. Leaving the convent--the only home she's ever known--