Skip to main content

Black & Gold Pretties


It has been far too long since I pulled together a Pretties post. Far too long. I continue to meticulously monitor my ongoing list of upcoming books, never fear. I just haven't been actively talking about them as much lately. But. These three. These three finally all have covers and are out there on the not-too-distant/somewhat distant horizon. Moreover, they absolutely merit some chatter.

The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli
Okay, look. This debut is being touted as "perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Sarah J. Maas" . . . soooooo . . . basically . . . I VOLUNTEER AS TRIBUTE. This is also within reach as it is due out in just over a month. I am so very excited. She's a dragon-slayer, guys. My Aerin Dragon-Killer loving heart is beating overtime.
Due out October 3rd

Circe by Madeline Miller
I feel certain you all remember my exquisite meltdown over the beautifulness that is The Song of Achilles. Well, she finally has another book coming out and it is CIRCE'S story, guys. It is the story of this halfling daughter, from her days in her father's hall to her banishment and transformation on her magical island. Yes, please. Yes, please, and thank you.
Due out April 10th

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
I am having the hardest time waiting for this one. I've adored Holly Black's faerie books for awhile now. No one does flawed, dark, romantic, high faerie beauty the way she does. This is the first in her new Folk of the Air trilogy. I hear it has a connection to her other faerie books. I hear it has a Hades/Persephone vibe going on. Music to my ears.
Due out January 2nd

Comments

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan