Skip to main content

Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

I came across a mention of Halfway to the Grave on Rachel Vincent's blog and decided to give it a try because the notion of a main character who is a half-vampire intrigued me. How does one become half a vampire, and what wicked cool/unbelievably lame attributes come with the package?

Cat Crawfield's mother had an unfortunate encounter with a vampire and five months later Cat was born. Her reclusive mother raised her to hate the darker half of herself, encouraging her to actively hunt the undead as a way of atoning for the fact of her existence. Being the good egg that she is, Cat obeys her mother and spends her youth isolated and alone, always in pursuit of her next victim.

Now 22 and about to start college, Cat firmly believes her mom's mantra: all vampires are evil and must be destroyed. Then one night a routine hunt goes bad when the vampire in question manages to take her prisoner, threatening to kill her unless she reveals who she is working for. Turns out this vampire, aka Bones, also kills other vampires for a living. And he suspects Cat of working for his enemy. The two strike up an uneasy alliance with Bones determined to train Cat as the ultimate vampire slayer and Cat determined to use the training to kill Bones the first chance she gets. Humor, mayhem, romance (not for the faint of heart...ahem), and lots and lots of slaying ensue. I really liked prickly Cat and the hilarious Bones. This book is funny and fun and the gangbusters ending left me very excited about book two, One Foot in the Grave, due out April 29.

Links
Darque Reviews
Jeaniene Frost's Website
Love Vampires Review

Comments

  1. Ok, I'll take your word on it that it's good...It sounds great, but how 'vampirey' is it? Lot's of blood and graphic descriptions or do you know what's going on without the graphic descriptions....either way I think I'm intrigued enough to read it, but it's good to know before hand. More or less graphic than the 2nd Mercy Thompson novel?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hm. I'd say as far as the vampirey stuff goes, this one is less graphic than the 2nd Mercy Thompson novel. But it is decidedly more sensual than any of the Mercy books. Hence my "ahem." Also funnier.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi Angie! Thanks for the DR mention. :) Bones is still one of my favorite males! *grin*

    ReplyDelete
  4. You bet, Kimberly! I love reading your reviews. And I agree--Bones is the bomb.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan