Skip to main content

A few pretties to look forward to...


...Sigh.

Comments

  1. Oooh, pretty covers. And new Eva Ibbotson! Do you know if that is a new release or a release with a differnet title like "The Secret Countess"? I don't recognise the title.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ignore my question. I tracked it down myself. It's a reprint of "Magic Flutes" which is what I was hoping. Now they might do the audiobook like they did with "A Company of Swans" and "The Secret Countess"/"A Countess Below Stairs". I love those books and I loved listening to them, so I was hoping "Magic Flutes" would come out in reprint too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Very cool news, Kerry. I haven't read MAGIC FLUTES yet. I discovered Ibbotson through these new reprints and have loved each one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have a nice copy of "A Company of Swans" but sad old paperbacks of "A Countess Below Stairs" and "Magic Flutes" with almost embarrassing covers. That means I keep being tempted by the new reprints, but don't really need new copies. It's the stories inside that count.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I know what you mean. I am so easily seduced by shiny, new covers. No will power at all.

    ReplyDelete
  6. She has really lucked out with her covers. I'm with you, Angie, I've only read her reprints so I'm glad they're bringing out more!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm interested in reading The Fetch (interesting premise,) and I absolutely cannot wait for Storm Glass. Not only did I love the Study series, when I contacted Maria Snyder about a library visit I found her to be incredibly warm and gracious, which is always a plus in a favored writer. And now when she does come for the visit I hope I don't start rambling like an idiot about Ari and Janco's antics. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm really looking forward to THE FETCH as I just loved Whitcomb's first novel, A CERTAIN SLANT OF LIGHT.

    Chelle, it's so fun when you contact and author and they're just as lovely as you thought they'd be. And I love Ari and Janco. It will be fun to see where this new series goes.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous8:33 PM

    I just finished A Countess Below Stairs by Ibbotson yesterday! I haven't read the one you have a cover of.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I thought A COUNTESS BELOW STAIRS was delightful. Although A SONG FOR SUMMER and A COMPANY OF SWANS are still tied for my favorite Ibbotson. I didn't know there was another one coming out and I'm very excited!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…