Skip to main content

A few pretties to look forward to...


...Sigh.

Comments

  1. Oooh, pretty covers. And new Eva Ibbotson! Do you know if that is a new release or a release with a differnet title like "The Secret Countess"? I don't recognise the title.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ignore my question. I tracked it down myself. It's a reprint of "Magic Flutes" which is what I was hoping. Now they might do the audiobook like they did with "A Company of Swans" and "The Secret Countess"/"A Countess Below Stairs". I love those books and I loved listening to them, so I was hoping "Magic Flutes" would come out in reprint too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Very cool news, Kerry. I haven't read MAGIC FLUTES yet. I discovered Ibbotson through these new reprints and have loved each one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have a nice copy of "A Company of Swans" but sad old paperbacks of "A Countess Below Stairs" and "Magic Flutes" with almost embarrassing covers. That means I keep being tempted by the new reprints, but don't really need new copies. It's the stories inside that count.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I know what you mean. I am so easily seduced by shiny, new covers. No will power at all.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous1:10 PM

    She has really lucked out with her covers. I'm with you, Angie, I've only read her reprints so I'm glad they're bringing out more!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous7:53 AM

    I'm interested in reading The Fetch (interesting premise,) and I absolutely cannot wait for Storm Glass. Not only did I love the Study series, when I contacted Maria Snyder about a library visit I found her to be incredibly warm and gracious, which is always a plus in a favored writer. And now when she does come for the visit I hope I don't start rambling like an idiot about Ari and Janco's antics. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm really looking forward to THE FETCH as I just loved Whitcomb's first novel, A CERTAIN SLANT OF LIGHT.

    Chelle, it's so fun when you contact and author and they're just as lovely as you thought they'd be. And I love Ari and Janco. It will be fun to see where this new series goes.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous8:33 PM

    I just finished A Countess Below Stairs by Ibbotson yesterday! I haven't read the one you have a cover of.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I thought A COUNTESS BELOW STAIRS was delightful. Although A SONG FOR SUMMER and A COMPANY OF SWANS are still tied for my favorite Ibbotson. I didn't know there was another one coming out and I'm very excited!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan