Skip to main content

Summer Blog Blast Tour, an Interview, and an Excerpt

Chasing Ray has the Summer Blog Blast Tour dates up. These wonderful folks put the tour on every year and it's always a fest o' awesome. This year they've got a great lineup and I'll definitely be dropping in to catch Carrie Jones today at Writing and Ruminating, Maggie Stiefvater also there on Wednesday, and Kristin Cashore at HipWriterMama on Friday. Rumor is...there'll be a Graceling giveaway!

In case by some freak chance you are not already a regular follower of the sneaky and cheeky Book Smugglers, you should rectify that problem. Harry over at Temple Library Reviews is interviewing Ana and Thea this week and it would be a perfect way to get to know them. Read Part I of the interview and then continue right on to Part II.

There was a high-pitched shriek heard round the 'Ville when I stumbled across the first chapter of Heroes at Risk, which Moira J. Moore has posted on her livejournal. If you're having a hard time holding out till August for your next Taro and Lee fix, go read the first chapter. And if you have no idea who Taro and Lee are, allow me to introduce you to the first in a fine series. Ignore the covers. That's what I keep telling my mother-in-law. Actually, I picked her up one of these handy-dandy book covers for Mother's Day. Now she'll never have to suffer cover embarrassment again...

Comments

  1. I've been wanting to read Moore's books, but they are so hard to find around my way. Not in libraries, not in bookstores. Very vexing! :(

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous6:36 AM

    Have you had a chance to read the prologue for the fourth Kate Daniels book? It's up at Ilona Andrews' blog. So good!

    I'd like to read the Moore books someday. Is there a decent romantic element to them?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous6:37 AM

    By the way, the above comment was by LauraJane. Sorry about that.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Chelle, that IS vexing. Hm. May have to do a giveaway at some point. I so want books 5 & 6 to get picked up.

    LauraJane, I did! So, so good. I knew it would go down like that. Sigh. Can't wait to find out Curran's excuse. And, yes, there is a decent romantic element in the Moore books. I'm loving the direction the relationship is taking...

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Book Smugglers rock!
    Some pretty cool links to check out thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Jenny Girl, they do indeed. Anytime.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …