Skip to main content

Creepy Pretties

Frank Portman has his second YA book coming out August 25th--Andromeda Klein. It's about a girl whose life changes when she begins predicting real events through her tarot card readings. Things only get creepier from there. I love this cover!
Carrie Vaughn's Kitty books are sitting in my TBR glancing at me longingly. I'm looking forward to digging in. I'm also excited about her upcoming YA foray--Voices of Dragons. Vaughn herself has described the book as, "the rock climbing jet fighters alternate history dragon book." Ahem. I am so in.
Lastly comes the third and final novel in Lisa McMann's incredibly addictive Wake trilogy. I can't wait to read Gone but I'm gonna be honest and tell you that that empty green chair is making me nervous. Janie? Cabel? You have to be okay, okay?!

Comments

  1. I'm with you on AK and Gone!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Andromeda Klein looks sooo good. I love that kind of stuff with tarot readings.

    I haven't read any of Lisa McMann's book! I hear so many great things about them, though. I'll have to check it out!

    -Bianca

    ReplyDelete
  3. Lenore, I know! I'm glad AK is out so soon.

    Bianca, it does sound fun, doesn't it? The McMann books are great. Really well-written and intense. Hope you get to them soon. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous12:02 PM

    I love Lisa McMann's books. The cover for Gone is great, but now you've made me nervous! I'm definitely buying the hardcover, but I think I'll have to be spoiled for the ending before I read it. I like Janie and Cabel a lot.

    Karen

    ReplyDelete
  5. OOooh they all look good! I haven't read any of the books in the Wake Series, although they are on my wishlist. I'm definitely adding these 3 to that list now.

    Jenni

    ReplyDelete
  6. Karen, lol! You nut. Though I confess, with some final books in a series/trilogy it is very hard to resist peeking. Just to make sure...

    Jenni, it's nice you have time to read the first two before GONE comes out! Though they're very fast reads. I hope it's a strong finish. I suspect it will be.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This is the first that I've seen of the Gone book cover. I hope it's good!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous7:59 AM

    I know, I know! But as I get older I honestly can't stand being shocked in a bad way. (I never got over what happened to Joyce in Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Did you watch that show? I started reading spoilers for the show after that.) Karen

    ReplyDelete
  9. Natasha, so do I. I'm not sure how she's going to wrap it up.

    Karen, lol. I understand. And "The Body" was the most horrifically sad episode of Buffy ever. *sob*

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oooh, those first two I hadn't heard of!! New books for my to-read list!! Yay! Lol

    ReplyDelete
  11. Laina, yay! I love adding to my list. Those two do look good, don't they?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan