Skip to main content

Silent Pretties

These are Mira's UK covers for Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey series and I want! I've always been a sucker for a matched set and these are just so delightful and fun. Particularly in light of the fact that my original copies will always and forever be hodgepodge as they made a major series cover art shift with the release of Silent on the Moor. Sigh. I particularly like the "A wickedly witty Lady Julia Grey mystery" tagline on the second two. But since these are only available in the UK, the total cost is currently prohibitive. So for now I will simply covet from afar...

Comments

  1. oh angie these are gorgeous. i likey.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Alisha, aren't they? *wants*

    ReplyDelete
  3. ooo. You know, thebookdepository.com has 2 of the 3 here and they have free shipping. But not Silent in the Grave otherwise I'd be doing what my best friend does when I shop with her: "Buy it, buy it, buy IT!"

    ReplyDelete
  4. they look a little like the mrs beeton cookbook covers. very cute.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Janice, I did not know! Thank you! I will keep my eyes peeled over there. I may, in fact, now be in trouble...

    Hagelrat, yep, a definite old school cookbook vibe going. Fun.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love them Angie! Especially since I wanted to cover Silent on the Moor so no one would see what I was reading. If they knew how good it was they wouldn't judge, but some people do judge a book by its cover:) like my husband.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Emily, lol! I hear ya. I hate have to justify what's inside to someone because of a cover that does not appeal to them. This set would be a perfect one to have and to lend.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love those covers!!! So much better than the US ones.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh I love these covers!!! Bummer that they so expensive! Now I know what I should read this weekend!! More in this series!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Amy, they're so stylized and fun. I like it when the covers for a series are both distinctive and cohesive. These fit that nicely.

    Caffey, I adore this series and I hope they treat you well. Let me know!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous8:11 AM

    I love the covers! And, like you, I'm a sucker for matched sets. I'll have to think about asking my friend in London to get them for me. Karen S.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Karen, that's a good idea! So nice to have friends in London...:)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan