Skip to main content

Silent Pretties

These are Mira's UK covers for Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey series and I want! I've always been a sucker for a matched set and these are just so delightful and fun. Particularly in light of the fact that my original copies will always and forever be hodgepodge as they made a major series cover art shift with the release of Silent on the Moor. Sigh. I particularly like the "A wickedly witty Lady Julia Grey mystery" tagline on the second two. But since these are only available in the UK, the total cost is currently prohibitive. So for now I will simply covet from afar...

Comments

  1. oh angie these are gorgeous. i likey.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Alisha, aren't they? *wants*

    ReplyDelete
  3. ooo. You know, thebookdepository.com has 2 of the 3 here and they have free shipping. But not Silent in the Grave otherwise I'd be doing what my best friend does when I shop with her: "Buy it, buy it, buy IT!"

    ReplyDelete
  4. they look a little like the mrs beeton cookbook covers. very cute.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Janice, I did not know! Thank you! I will keep my eyes peeled over there. I may, in fact, now be in trouble...

    Hagelrat, yep, a definite old school cookbook vibe going. Fun.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love them Angie! Especially since I wanted to cover Silent on the Moor so no one would see what I was reading. If they knew how good it was they wouldn't judge, but some people do judge a book by its cover:) like my husband.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Emily, lol! I hear ya. I hate have to justify what's inside to someone because of a cover that does not appeal to them. This set would be a perfect one to have and to lend.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love those covers!!! So much better than the US ones.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh I love these covers!!! Bummer that they so expensive! Now I know what I should read this weekend!! More in this series!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Amy, they're so stylized and fun. I like it when the covers for a series are both distinctive and cohesive. These fit that nicely.

    Caffey, I adore this series and I hope they treat you well. Let me know!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous8:11 AM

    I love the covers! And, like you, I'm a sucker for matched sets. I'll have to think about asking my friend in London to get them for me. Karen S.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Karen, that's a good idea! So nice to have friends in London...:)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan