Skip to main content

That First Kiss

Rowena over at The Book Binge had a charming post up on her first kiss and what it was like and how she remembers it like it was yesterday. She goes on to talk about her favorite between-the-pages first kisses and why she loves them. I thought it was a lovely post and it made me realize that, though I'm rather a big fan of a good first kiss on the page, I haven't really spent much time thinking about which ones are my favorites.
Now that I have, I have to laugh at what seems to be a trend. I am apparently particularly fond of a first kiss that takes one (or both) people by surprise. Lol. I honestly had no idea I felt that way, but the evidence appears to be incontrovertible. I've removed the names to protect the innocent and prevent spoilers but there is really no way to talk about these kisses (even as briefly as I do) without risking some SPOILERS. So if you see a title you're planning on reading and don't want to know anything, please skip these short descriptions. I don't want to ruin anything for anyone!
Seven of my very favorites (in no particular order):

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier--Almost in spite of herself, she takes a single step forward, puts her arms around him, and takes him unbelievably, monumentally, staggeringly by surprise. Sigh.
Mystic and Rider by Sharon Shinn--Very deliberately, hoping to discover the answer to her question, she takes his face in her hands and forces him to meet her halfway. The quality of his reaction takes them both by surprise.
Stand Down by Zack Emerson (a.k.a. Ellen Emerson White)--After months of exchanging letters and two nights spent just holding hands, he backs her into the wall and lays one on her. It takes her a few seconds, but she catches on.
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling--He's had a particularly awful day and then she bursts in, runs to him, and kisses him in the completely spontaneous, completely perfect moment we've all been waiting for.
Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliassotti--She looks at him and really sees him for the first time. He's scared out of his mind and shaking with fear. And she holds him. And he rests his forehead on her shoulder. And he leans forward and kisses her.
Rites of Spring (Break) by Diana Peterfreund--These two have a History. Of combat. In an unfamiliar environment, they find the regular old rules don't apply. And when he's the only thing keeping her afloat, she grabs on for dear life.
Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn--Mid-argument, against a tree on Hampstead Heath,
this explosive encounter between two people who've met their match (whether they know it yet or not) is not to be missed.

And there you have it. Interestingly, these first kisses hail from four fantasy books, one young adult historical fiction, one historical mystery, and one contemporary fiction. And it's four to three in favor of the girl kissing the guy. As for my first kiss...it was short, sweet, and didn't take either of us by surprise. And that's all you're gonna hear about that!

Now it's your turn. Tell me about your favorite between-the-pages first kisses and/or your own!

Comments

  1. Wow. What a good question. You have me thinking?

    ReplyDelete
  2. My first kiss was Matt Day in 8th grade. Supremely hot Australian guy, with chesnut hair and big blue eyes. He kissed me at a boy/girl birthday party.It was a french kiss, SOOOO sophisticated, and I vividly remember getting into the car and being sure that my mother would somehow know that I'd been kissing.

    Favorite first kiss in a romance novel? Oh, so many. But I love It Happened One Autumn by Lisa Kleypas. The first time Marcus kisses Lillian is just lovely, and stupefying for her.

    Terrific post, Angie!

    ReplyDelete
  3. From the photo, I thought you were going to mention one of my fave first kisses, from Practice Makes Perfect, which happens in a library!

    Also, OOOH, I LOVED that one from SILENT in the GRAVE. That is the ultimate one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just had a bad flashback. ha-ha I forgot about that guy, and that's all I'll say ;)

    Sorry but I don't have a favorite first kiss in a book. At least not that I can think of.

    Good post!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Okay first off, GREAT PICTURE. If I wasn't so happy with my own first kiss, I would totally have wished for a first kiss to be in a library!

    You know, I haven't read any of the books you've mentioned in this post. I should probably fix that, huh?

    I've already mentioned my favorite first kiss in the post but CJ, that first kiss between JD and Payton was outstanding as well.

    Great post and thanks for the nod! =)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I reread the Clockwork Heart kisses last night because I was feeling down. Le sigh. So well written, that kiss.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Stand Down sounds like the best kiss. There's something about being backed against a wall and the guy just kissing you that sounds like the best kiss anyone could ask for. You have an award waiting on my blog: http://theobsessivereader-rachel.blogspot.com/2009/08/i-am-horrible-at-giving-out-awards.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. I really love the first kiss scene in Secrets of the Heart, by Cathy Clamp. Also, Jennifer Echoll's Major Crush.

    Unfortunately, my mind is drawing a blank at the moment, though I know I've read many amazing first kisses.

    One chapter of RWA runs a first kiss contest for unpublished writers -- you send in the first kiss scene in your book. I always wondered how hard it is to judge -- it's sometimes so difficult to get the nuances of why that kiss happens the way it does without knowing what the build up is. Sometimes I talk to folks who've only read Rites of Spring (Break) -- or who have had the relationship spoiled for them by, oh, I don't know. Angie? -- and they have an entirely different take on it.

    My most memorable first kiss of all time was with my husband, and it was pretty much exactly what you describe: initiated by me, took us both by surprise.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I loved my first kiss! It happened on a chilly October night at the top of a deserted Ensign Peak. There was some laughing on my part, but still pretty romantic.

    Now for a book, I'll have to say Silent in the Grave. I love it when the heated exchange unexpectedly turns into something quite different. :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Juju, let me know what you come up with! :)

    Kati, now he sounds memorable. And I had to laugh at you thinking your mom would somehow know! I think we all felt that way at one time or another. lol.

    Carolyn, an actual library kiss!? I must look that one up.

    Jenny Girl, funny the memories kissing brings up, isn't it?

    Rowena, yeah, that's probably the only thing I'd change about mine as well. ;) Thank YOU for the original post. I loved it. And if you are interested in trying some of these out I really can't say enough about the Marillier (which is a sequel) and the Shinn (which is not). And, as Carolyn said, SILENT IN THE GRAVE is plain awesome.

    Janice, what a perfect pick-me-up. It's such a lovely book.

    Rachel, I'm with you. It's an incredibly hot kiss. And thank you so much for the award!!

    Diana, I just read Echols' GOING TOO FAR so I should look up MAJOR CRUSH as well. I think I agree with you about that contest. As I think about the kisses I listed, they would all lose most of their oomph taken out of context like that. I hope I haven't ruined your series for anyone. I was lucky to go into each book without any knowledge of what to expect and you're absolutely right, they would be completely different knowing the larger role some characters play.

    Your most memorable kiss sounds like an absolute classic. *happy*

    Holly, lol. I love that you were able to laugh and love it. I had a couple that I could not laugh about till months or years later. *shudder* And yay for SILENT IN THE GRAVE! Soooo good.

    ReplyDelete
  11. First Kiss, that was one huge dissappointment.
    OMG, not the thing one wants to remember.

    Fave first kiss in a novel?
    I think I have to go with "Blood & Chocolate", there was something about that scene that stroke me as sounding both sweet and yet perfectly realistic (apart from her being a werewolf and all).

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…